Dollar and euro

Abstract

Isis and Osiris myth

The one dollar note refers to a large extent to Egypt and the myth of Isis in quest of the remains of Osiris to be reassembled. Any resemblance with the constitution of the United States is far from being purely accidental.

First children of Nut, the Heaven goddess, and Hem, the god of Earth, Osiris and Isis are twins as well as husband and wife. Their younger brother and sister, Seth and Neftis, are also married

Lack of attention or deliberate cunning, the fact remains that Osiris sleeps in the bed of Neftis who will give birth to a son, Anubis, the god with a jackal head.

Seth is not very pleased with this and decides to take revenge. Having taken Osiris measurements, a splendid sarcophagus adapted to his dimensions is manufactured. During a feast, Seth announces that he has a magnificent sarcophagus, which will belong to the person fitting perfectly inside. Everybody tries in vain to get in until Osiris who (Ô surprise!) is a perfect fit. Straight away, a group of servants are rushing, closing the top over Osiris and sealing the sarcophagus with iron circles before throwing it into the Nile. Floating and drifting, it touches finally the Persian coast. A huge tree grows where the sarcophagus ends up. Its fragrance is so wonderful that the King of the place cuts it down and transforms it into one of the pillars of the palace constructed in honour of his newborn son.

In the meantime, Isis has gone in search of her husband and discovers that he stands in one of the palace pillars, easily recognizable through the wonderful smell emanating from it. Invited to the court to look after the young prince, she accepts to be a nurse. After plenty of adventures, she explains to the King that her husband is standing in one of the pillars and that she would like to bring him home. Wishing to help, the King responds to her request and the pillar is brought on a barge. Isis releases the sarcophagus from its container, lies on Osiris and conceives Horus, the god with a hawk head.

Seth having taken possession of the throne, Isis is afraid to go back to the palace and hides among the papyrus where she gives birth. Meanwhile, Seth has gone hunting and follows a boar on the moors when he discovers Isis near Osiris” dead body. Becoming angry, he cuts Osiris into 14 pieces (or 15 according to some versions) and spreads them all around. With the help of Neftis and Anubis, provided with a sniffing nose, Isis manages to collect all pieces, except one. A fish had swallowed the missing piece, the phallus. Isis makes an image of it with the help of the magic arts of her sister Nephtys. Now, she is able to bring all the pieces together. When assembled, the body of Osiris is embalmed by Anubis who acts as a priest…

It is out of the question to go into all the details gathered in this myth, rich of so many meanings. The important thing to remember is that the sarcophagus, tree, pillar and phallus are representations of the “World Axis”, which is linking Heaven and Earth, celestial and terrestrial power.

In other respects, gathering what is scattered means to restore the existential or manifested world into its non-manifested original state. It is a matter of return to the principial Unit. This re-integration into the non-manifestation is only the counterpart to the disintegration of the Principle in its manifested form. The alternation of both phases of disintegration and re-integration represents the whole cosmic process.

Similarly, in the construction domain, the builder gathers scattered materials to create the edifice, clear allusion to the constitution we are dealing with.

The symbols carried by the greenback

The symbolism holds essentially within the two seals on both parts of the nominal value of the note.

One dollar note carrying two lateral seals

The left seal

The circle contains a pyramid with a square base symbolizing the four compass points of the Left seal and the pyramid manifested world. Composed of 13 degrees, it is topped by a pyramidal stone or keystone neglected during the construction of the different degrees and which finds its place as a building crown. Surmounting the edifice, the pyramidal stone, source of light, refers to the Being or Principle at the origin of the manifestation of all things. It holds “The All Seeing Eye”, the third eye, which is frontal or central. Beyond the binocular vision, the third eye symbolizes the omnipresence or the total perception within the perfect simultaneity of the eternal present peculiar to the non-manifested world.

Behind the pyramid, the desert symbolizes the emptiness or the Principle and the cultured land in front represents its manifestation.

At the bottom of the seal, the inscription “Novus Ordo Seclorum” refers to the new order of the ages (of the manifested world) while the top one “Annuit Coeptis” means that He (the Being) has favoured our undertakings.

The date of the Constitution of the United States is written in Roman numbers on the pyramid basis or 1776.

The right seal

Here, the circle contains an eagle, symbol of the World King, possessor of both spiritual and Right seal and the eagle temporal authority. From the unique head comes down the Principle polarized and manifested within both claws. One is holding 13 arrows, symbol of Justice or royal power, and the other a branch of 13 bay leaves, symbol of Peace, which means sacerdotal or spiritual authority.

Above the eagle head, 13 stars are drawing a luminous Solomon seal composed of 12 outlying stars symbolizing the zodiac, which surrounds the cosmic world of manifestation, and a central star representing the Principle at the origin of the manifestation.

The Solomon seal consists of two reverse triangles, holding 10 stars each, which are arranged according the tetraktys symbol:1+2+3+4. The number 1, located at the summit, refers to the Principle, the number 2 to its polarization and the number 3 = 1+2 to its non-manifested and “manifested” aspects. These numbers have an “ontological” Solomon's seal and the tetraktys character while the number 4, at the triangle basis, is equivalent to all numbers and symbolizes the universal manifestation. Indeed, the quaternary generates ten (1+2+3+4 = 10) and therefore all numbers. Consequently, the tetraktys represents the 10,000 (or 104) beings, that means the multitude of the universal manifestation generated by the Principle or the primordial Unity (1).

The star situated at the centre of the seal is central for each triangle as well. So, these triangles meet in perfect harmony in relation to the Principle. Moreover, the triangle pointing upwards, related to fire, has a celestial nature while the one pointing downwards, associated with water, has a terrestrial nature. So, the whole symbolizes the perfect union of celestial and terrestrial aspects realized within the “Universal Man”, mediator par excellence between Heaven and Earth.

The dollar sign $

Most of the explanations on the origin of the sign naturally refer to the serpentine shape. In connection with Isis quest to recover the scattered pieces of her husband and to reconstitute him, we may add, from the anecdotal point of view, another explanation about the dollar sign origin:

Sign $

The vertical line represents the “World Axis”, bridge between Heaven and Earth. The earlier drawing of the sign contained two vertical bars, instead of one, which referred to both ascending and descending phases alongside the axis.

The serpentine line symbolizes the cycling way around the axis as explained in the euro symbol part. For more details regarding this point, consult the double spiral.

The symbols on the euro notes

The wording euro notes, common to all countries of the European Union, are supposed not to hint at any myth and to come only from the imagination of their creators. Nevertheless, they carry symbols conveyed since the mists of time. In fact, they represent various bridges on the back and arches, arcades, pillars and columns as well as gates and windows on the first side.

The symbolism of the twelve star circle is treated in the framework of the European flag.

Five euro note Bridge over Gard

By the way, notice that the bridge on the 5 euro note, far away from emerging from any imagination, comes directly out of our childhood History book pictures worded “pont du Gard” (bridge situated close to Nîmes in France).

The bridge

The bridge over a river connects one bank to the other. However, both banks are not identical; they portray two different states of the being linked only by the bridge.

The bridge is equivalent to the pillar in Isis and Osiris myth. It connects Earth and Heaven, the human condition to the spiritual state and frames another symbol of the World Axis. As such, it appears to be more a vertical bridge through which the communication between the sensitive and supra-sensitive world operates.

The bridge crossing corresponds to the route alongside the axis joining two different being states. The departure bank is the manifested world to which we belong; the arrival bank symbolizes the spiritual or Principle world at the source of all manifestation. Depending on whether we reach to cross the bridge or not, due to obstacles plaguing the route as in fairy tales, the passage will be benefic or malefic. This double aspect results from the fact that the bridge may be crossed in both directions when it should only be in one, from the current state to a superior state and not the opposite. Hence the warning within myths where any return or backwards look involves a danger. Therefore, each bridge portion already covered has to disappear to the eyes of the person crossing. One should cast a glance backwards only after having reached the other bank.

In various forms of tradition, the only person identified to the bridge, the vertical axis, was able to establish the communication between both banks.“Wang” (or Emperor) ideogram In China, the “Wang” or Emperor was entitled to fulfil the rites associated with that function. Identified to the vertical axis, the “Wang” joined within his person the sacerdotal and royal functions. He was the one making the bridge between the three worlds (terrestrial, human and celestial) depicted by the three horizontal lines of the “Wang” character shown on the besides diagram. The vertical line symbolizes the three-world union, which means the bridge linking them. As such, the “Wang” was the “Universal Man”, real mediator between Heaven and Earth.

As a mediator between Heaven and Earth, the Emperor is a Pontiff. As such, he is simultaneously the builder of the bridge and the bridge itself. In the Middle Age story of Mabinogion, titled “Branwen, Daughter of Llyr”, the Welsh armies invade Ireland to avenge the evil lot imposed upon Branwen by her husband Matholwch, King of Ireland. On the way, they are stopped by the Shannon, a river without any bridge and on which no ship can sail. What does King Bran do ? He lies across the river from bank to bank and the soldiers march over his body. The Welsh attribute to this story the origin of the saying “The chief should be a bridge”.

The arches, arcades and columns

The bridge related to the vertical axis calls up the straight road resting on pillars connected by arches. The arch echoes the arch bridge as well, also called “rainbow” bridge in China, another symbol of the union of Heaven and Earth. This half or full circular link expresses more a cyclic than linear vision of being transformations. According to that vision, a cycle series wrinkling around the vertical axis represents various being states. The end or death of a cycle coincides with the beginning or birth of a new one, just as the arch sequence of a straight bridge. Certainly, this other passage route through diverse cycles, organized into a hierarchic state suite, bypasses the straight way, but it follows the same goal at least. There is no fundamental difference between the straight and arch bridges, between the direct path alongside the axis and the cycling path along the helix around the axis, only a form difference.

The various spirituality degrees are often represented as ladder rungs or stair steps. A ladder or a staircase which could only be covered in one direction, upwards. The straight or spiral staircases may illustrate the difference between both straight and cyclic ways.

As arch or arcade supporting elements, the columns stand for as many being states on one or the other river bank. To get more details about, consult the Temple columns.

The euro sign €

The two horizontal lines represent both traffic directions on the bridge linking the two banks. As the lines are horizontal, they may not bridge Heaven and Earth or spiritual and temporal world, but only two equivalent states of the terrestrial world. On the contrary, the arch crossing both lines symbolizes the cyclic path around an invisible vertical axis.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symbols of Sacred Science”, Sophia Perennis Publisher 2004;
  • More specifically, chapters 63 and 64 on the symbolism of the bridge.
  • “The Great Triad”, South Asia Books Publisher;
  • Particularly, chapter 17 related to the Pontiff.
  • Joseph Campbell:
  • “Transformations of Myth through Time”, Harper Row Publisher, 1990.
  • “Power of myth”, Publishing Group Inc. 1988.

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Dollar et euro

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Le mythe d'Isis et d'Osiris

Le billet de un dollar fait pour une large part référence à l'Égypte et au mythe d'Isis en quête des restes d'Osiris qu'elle doit rassembler. Toute ressemblance avec la constitution des États-Unis n'a rien de fortuit.

Premiers enfants de Nut, déesse du Ciel, et d'Hem, dieu de la Terre, Osiris et Isis sont jumeaux ainsi que mari et femme. Leur frère et sœur cadets, Seth et Neftis, sont eux aussi mariés.

Erreur d'inattention ou rouerie délibérée, toujours est-il qu'Osiris se retrouve sur la couche de Neftis qui enfantera un fils, Anubis, le dieu à la tête de chacal.

Seth trouve le fait déplaisant et décide de se venger. Il fait relever les mesures d'Osiris et fabriquer un splendide sarcophage adapté à ses dimensions. Au cours d'une fête, Seth déclare détenir un magnifique sarcophage destiné à celui qui s'y glissera parfaitement. Chacun essaie en vain de s'y tenir jusqu'à Osiris qui (ô surprise!) en épouse parfaitement les contours. Aussitôt, une horde de serviteurs se précipite, referme le couvercle du sarcophage sur Osiris et le cercle de fer avant de le jeter dans le Nil. Le sarcophage flotte, dérive et finit par toucher les côtes de Perse. Un grand arbre pousse juste à l'endroit où le sarcophage échoue. L'arbre dégage un parfum si merveilleux que le Roi des lieux le fait couper pour constituer l'un des piliers du palais construit en l'honneur de son fils nouveau-né.

Entre-temps Isis est partie à la recherche de son époux et a découvert qu'il se tient dans l'un des piliers du palais, aisément reconnaissable au parfum qu'il dégage. Invitée à la cour pour s'occuper du jeune prince, elle accepte le poste de nourrice. Après moult aventures, elle explique au Roi que son époux se tient dans l'un des piliers et qu'elle aimerait le ramener chez elle. Le Roi s'empresse de répondre à sa demande et le pilier est emporté sur une barge. Isis délivre le sarcophage de sa gaine, se couche sur Osiris et conçoit Horus, le dieu à la tête de faucon.

Seth a pris possession du trône et Isis, effrayée de rentrer au palais, se cache au milieu des papyrus où elle accouche. Parti entre-temps à la chasse, Seth poursuit un sanglier dans les marais et découvre Isis près du cadavre d'Osiris. Pris de colère, il coupe Osiris en 14 morceaux (ou 15 selon les versions) et les éparpille alentour. Aidée de Neftis et Anubis au nez renifleur, Isis parvient à récupérer tous les morceaux, sauf un. Un poisson a avalé le morceau manquant, le phallus. Isis en modèle une image avec l'aide des pouvoirs magiques de sa sœur Nephtys. Elle peut à présent rassembler tous les morceaux. Une fois assemblé, le corps d'Osiris est embaumé par les soins d'Anubis qui officie en tant que prêtre…

Il ne peut être question ici de pénétrer ici tous les détails rassemblés de ce mythe riche de significations. Nous retiendrons essentiellement que le sarcophage, l'arbre, le pilier, et le phallus sont des représentations de “l'Axe du Monde”, lien entre le Ciel et la Terre, entre l'autorité spirituelle et le pouvoir temporel.

Par ailleurs, rassembler ce qui est épars signifie recouvrer le monde existentiel ou manifesté dans son état originel de non manifestation. Il s'agit essentiellement du retour à l'Unité principielle. Cette ré-intégration dans le non manifesté n'est que le pendant à la désintégration du Principe sous sa forme manifestée. L'alternance de ces deux phases de désintégration et de ré-intégration représente le processus cosmique dans son ensemble.

Par analogie, dans le domaine de la construction, le bâtisseur rassemble les matériaux épars pour former l'édifice, allusion des plus claires à la constitution qui nous occupe.

Les symboles porteurs du billet vert

Le symbolisme s'inscrit principalement dans les deux sceaux situés de part et d'autre de la valeur nominale du billet.

Billet de un dollar porteur de deux sceaux

Le sceau gauche

Le cercle renferme une pyramide à base carrée, symbole des quatre points cardinaux du monde manifesté. Comportant 13 degrés, elle est surmontée d'un pyramidion (pierre pyramidale) ou pierre d'angle négligée au cours de la construction des divers degrés et qui Sceau gauche et la pyramide ne trouve sa place que pour couronner l'édifice. Surmontant l'édifice, le pyramidion, source de lumière, se rapporte à l'Être ou au Principe à l'origine de la manifestation de toute chose. Il renferme “l'Oeil qui voit tout”, le troisième œil qui est frontal ou central. Au-delà de la vision binoculaire, le troisième œil symbolise l'omniprésence ou la perception totale dans la parfaite simultanéité de l'éternel présent propre au non manifesté. À l'arrière plan de la pyramide, le désert symbolise le vide ou le Principe et la terre cultivée à l'avant plan représente sa manifestation.

Au bas du sceau, l'inscription “Novus Ordo Seclorum” fait référence au nouvel ordre (du monde manifesté) tandis que l'inscription du haut “Annuit Coeptis” exprime qu'Il (l'Être) a favorisé nos réalisations.

A la base de la pyramide, la date de la Constitution des États -Unis en nombres romains ou 1776.

Le sceau droit

Ici, le cercle renferme un aigle, symbole du Roi du Monde, détenteur à la fois de l'autorité spirituelle et temporelle. De la tête unique descend le Principe qui se polarise et seSceau droit et l'aigle manifeste dans les deux serres. L'une retient 13 flèches, symbole de la Justice ou du pouvoir royal, et l'autre une branche de laurier à 13 feuilles, symbole de la Paix, c'est-à-dire de l'autorité sacerdotale ou spirituelle.

Au-dessus de la tête de l'aigle, 13 étoiles dessinent: un sceau de Salomon lumineux composé de 12 étoiles périphériques, symbolisant le zodiaque qui englobe le monde cosmique de la manifestation, et d'une étoile centrale représentant le Principe à l'origine de cette manifestation.

Le sceau de Salomon se compose de deux triangles inversés renfermant chacun 10 étoiles disposées selon le symbole de la tétraktys:1+2+3+4. Le nombre 1, situé au sommet, se rapporte au Principe, le nombre 2 à sa polarisation et le nombre 3 = 1+2 à son aspect non manifesté et “manifesté”. Ces nombres ont un caractère “ontologique” Sceau de Salomon et la tétraktys tandis que le nombre 4, situé à la base du triangle, équivaut à l'ensemble des nombres et symbolise la manifestation universelle. En effet, le quaternaire engendre la dizaine (1+2+3+4 = 10) et donc tous les nombres. La tétraktys représente, en conséquence, les 10 000 (ou 104) êtres, c'est-à-dire la multitude de la manifestation universelle générée par le Principe ou l'Unité Primordiale (1).

L'étoile située au centre du sceau est également centrale pour chacun des triangles qui se rejoignent ainsi dans une totale harmonie par rapport au Principe. De plus, le triangle pointant vers le haut, associé au feu, est de nature céleste tandis que celui pointant vers le bas, relatif à l'eau, est de nature terrestre. L'ensemble symbolise l'union parfaite des aspects céleste et terrestre réalisée dans “l'Homme Universel”, médiateur par excellence entre le Ciel et la Terre.

Le signe du dollar $

La plupart des explications sur l'origine du signe font naturellement référence à la forme serpentine. En relation avec la quête d'Isis pour retrouver les morceaux épars de son époux et le reconstituer, nous pouvons ajouter, à titre anecdotique, une explication de plus sur l'origine du signe du dollar:

Lettre ILettre SLettre ILettre S

La ligne verticale représente “l'Axe du Monde”, pont entre Ciel et Terre. Dans sa figuration antérieure, le signe comportait deux lignes verticales, au lieu d'une, qui faisaient référence aux deux phases ascendante et descendante le long de l'axe.

La ligne serpentine symbolise la voie cyclique autour de l'axe comme nous allons le voir dans la partie consacrée aux symboles liés à l'euro. Pour plus de détails sur ce point, consultez la double spirale.

Les symboles figurant sur les billets libellés en euro

Les billets libellés en euro, communs à tous les pays de l'Union Européenne, sont sensés ne faire allusion à aucun mythe et émerger de la seule imagination de leurs créateurs. Néanmoins, ils restent porteurs de symboles véhiculés depuis la nuit des temps. Ils représentent, en effet, au verso divers ponts et au recto des arcades, des arches, des piliers et des colonnes ainsi que des portes et des fenêtres.

Le symbolisme du cercle de douze étoiles est traité dans le cadre du drapeau européen.

Billet de 5 euros Pont du Gard

Notons en passant que le pont figurant sur le billet de 5 euro, loin d'émerger d'un quelconque imaginaire, sort tout droit des images des livres d'Histoire de notre enfance libellées “pont du Gard” (situé près de Nîmes en France).

Le pont

Le pont jeté sur une rivière relie une rive à l'autre. Cependant, les deux rives ne sont point semblables; elles représentent deux états distincts de l'être qui ont le pont pour seul lien.

Le pont est l'équivalent du pilier dans le mythe d'Isis et d'Osiris. Il relie la Terre au Ciel, la condition humaine à l'état spirituel et constitue un autre symbole de l'Axe du Monde. Comme tel, il s'agit davantage d'un pont vertical par lequel s'opère la communication entre le monde sensible et le monde supra-sensible.

Le passage du pont correspond au parcours suivant l'axe qui unit deux états d'être. La rive de départ est le monde de la manifestation dont nous faisons partie; la rive d'arrivée symbolise le monde spirituel ou du Principe à la source de toute manifestation. Selon que nous parviendrons à franchir le pont ou non, en raison des obstacles semés sur la route comme dans les contes, le passage sera bénéfique ou maléfique. Ce double aspect résulte du fait qu'un pont peut être parcouru dans les deux sens alors qu'il ne doit l'être que dans un seul, d'un état actuel à un état supérieur et non l'inverse. De là, cette mise en garde dans les mythes où tout retour ou regard en arrière comporte un danger. Aussi, toute portion de pont parcourue doit disparaître aux yeux de celui qui le traverse. Le regard ne se porte en arrière qu'une fois l'autre rive atteinte.

Dans diverses formes traditionnelles, seul celui qui s'identifiait au pont, à l'axe vertical, pouvait établir la communication entre les deux rives. En Chine, seul le “Wang” ou Idéogramme “Wang” (Empereur) l'Empereur était habilité à accomplir les rites correspondant à cette fonction. Identifié à l'axe vertical, le “Wang” réunissait en lui-même les fonctions sacerdotale et royale. Il était celui qui fait le pont entre les trois mondes (terrestre, humain et céleste) représentés par les trois traits horizontaux du caractère “Wang” figurant dans le diagramme ci-contre. Le trait vertical symbolise l'union de ces trois mondes, c'est-à-dire le pont qui les relie. Comme tel, le “Wang” était “l'Homme Universel”, véritable médiateur entre le Ciel et la Terre.

En tant que médiateur entre le Ciel et la Terre, l'Empereur est un Pontife, ce qui signifie être à la fois le constructeur du pont et le pont lui-même. Dans le récit du Moyen-âge des Mabinogion intitulé “Branwen, Fille de Llyr”, les armées galloises envahissent l'Irlande pour conjurer le sort démoniaque jeté sur Branwen par son époux Matholwch, roi d'Irlande. En route, elles sont arrêtées par le Shannon, un fleuve dépourvu de pont et sur lequel aucune navigation n'est possible. Que fait le roi Bran ? Il s'étend d'une rive à l'autre du fleuve et les soldats traversent sur son corps. Les gallois attribuent à cette épopée l'origine du proverbe “Un chef doit être un pont”.

Les arches, les arcades et les colonnes

Le pont associé à l'axe vertical évoque le tablier rectiligne s'appuyant sur des piliers reliés par des arches. L'arche fait également écho au pont en forme d'arc, dénommé en Chine pont “arc-en-ciel”, autre symbole de l'union du Ciel et de la Terre. Ce lien semi-circulaire ou circulaire exprime davantage une vision cyclique que rectiligne de la transformation des êtres. Selon cette vision, chaque état d'être passe par une série de cycles s'enroulant autour de l'axe vertical. La fin ou la mort d'un cycle s'accompagne du début ou de la naissance d'un nouveau, telle la succession des arches du pont rectiligne. Cette autre voie de passage par divers cycles, associée à une suite d'états hiérarchisés, contourne certes la voie rectiligne, mais elle n'en poursuit pas moins le même but. Il n'y a pas de différence fondamentale entre le pont rectiligne et le pont en arc, entre la voie directe le long de l'axe et la voie cyclique empruntant une hélice autour du dit axe, seulement une différence de forme.

Les différents degrés de spiritualité sont souvent représentés par les barreaux d'une échelle ou les marches d'un escalier. Une échelle ou un escalier à parcourir également dans un seul sens, celui de l'ascension. La différence entre les deux voies rectiligne et cyclique est à l'image de l'escalier droit et de l'escalier en colimaçon.

En tant qu'éléments de soutien de divers arcs, arches ou arcades, les colonnes représentent autant d'états d'être sur l'une ou l'autre des deux rives. Pour plus de détails sur cet aspect, consulter les colonnes du Temple sur le même site.

Le signe de l'euro €

Les deux lignes horizontales représentent les deux sens de circulation sur le pont joignant les deux rives. Les deux lignes étant horizontales, elles ne sauraient relier le Ciel et la Terre ou les mondes spirituel et temporel, mais uniquement deux états équivalents du monde terrestre. L'arche traversant les deux traits symbolise au contraire la voie cyclique autour d'un axe vertical invisible.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symboles de la Science sacrée”. Éditions Gallimard, 1962;
  • Notamment, les chapitres LXIII et LXIV sur le symbolisme du pont.
  • “La Grande Triade”. Éditions Gallimard, 1957;
  • Particulièrement, le chapitre XVII sur le Roi Pontife.
  • Joseph Campbell:
  • “Les mythes à travers les âges”. Le jour éditeur, 1993.
  • “Puissance du mythe”. Éditions J'ai lu, 1991.
Haut