LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The sacred and the profane

Cretan Coin depicting a swastika-labyrinth

Currencies, symbol carriers

The substitution of money to barter has largely contributed to the development of exchanges within and between traditional societies. However, these exchanges went much beyond the manifestation of a common interest alone. Indeed, in these societies, all social activities had a sacred character. The money mint, in particular, was under the control of a spiritual authority as asserted by symbols and mottos covering ancient coins. Any object could be employed as support to meditation besides its common use. Far from reducing money to a simple exchange in a purely quantitative market system, the traditional society allowed the individual to connect with a superior reality order, both spiritual and qualitative.

When the money mint and circulation fell into the exclusive hands of the temporal power, the money was reduced to a simple instrument of exchange, precaution and reserve, i.e. a pure quantity subject to accumulation. This passage opened the way to the reign of numerical value marking out coins and banknotes today. A value which quickly became purely formal. This transformation has allowed the reduction of beings and things to simple digital data all over the world. This restriction has opened the digital field to the detriment of the symbolic domain.

Nevertheless, coins and banknotes always remained carriers of representations beyond their monetary value and evocative of thousand-year-old symbols such as the vajra in India, the twelve signs of the zodiac in India or China, the swastika in number of countries, the Celtic triskele or six petal flower, the Cretan labyrinth, the Greek or Roman horn of plenty… to say nothing of astronomical, vegetal, animal, human or divine representations.

Nowadays, currencies as dollar and euro are still carrying the imprint of old times, especially the dollar.

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le sacré et le profane

Monnaie crétoise décrivant un swastika-labyrinthe

Les monnaies, porteuses de symboles

La substitution de la monnaie au troc a largement contribué au développement des échanges dans et entre les sociétés traditionnelles. Ces échanges allaient cependant bien au-delà de la seule manifestation d'un intérêt commun. En effet, dans ces sociétés, l'ensemble des activités sociales avait un environnement sacré. L'émission de monnaie était en particulier placée sous le contrôle d'une autorité spirituelle comme en témoignent les symboles et les devises qui couvraient les pièces de monnaie anciennes. Tout objet pouvait servir de support à la méditation en plus de son usage courant. La société traditionnelle, loin de réduire la monnaie à un moyen d'échange d'un système marchand purement quantitatif, permettait de relier l'individu à une réalité d'ordre supérieur, proprement spirituelle et qualitative.

Lorsque la frappe et la circulation de la monnaie tomba entre les mains exclusives du pouvoir temporel, elle fut réduite à un simple instrument d'échange, de précaution et de réserve. En somme, à une pure quantité, objet d'accumulation. Ce passage a ouvert la voie au règne de la valeur numérique figurant aujourd'hui sur les pièces et billets de banque. Une valeur devenue très vite purement formelle. Cette transformation a permis d'étendre à la planète entière la réduction des êtres et des choses à de simples données numériques. Cette restriction a ouvert le champs du numérique au détriment domaine symbolique.

Néanmoins, pièces et billets restèrent toujours porteurs de représentations au-delà de leur valeur monétaire et évocatrices de symboles millénaires comme le vajra en Inde, les douze signes du zodiaque en Inde ou en Chine, le swastika dans bien des pays, le triskèle ou la fleur à six pétales celtique, le labyrinthe crétois, la corne d'abondance grecque ou romaine… sans parler des représentations astronomiques, végétales, animales, humaines ou divines.

De nos jours, des monnaies telles que le dollar et l'euro portent encore l'empreinte de temps anciens, tout particulièrement le dollar.

Haut