LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The cross in all its dimensions

(Summary)

The spatial spreading

The cross symbol may be found in various forms in many traditions. It is not to be reduced to its Christian and historic aspect only, as it dates back to the most remote times and is part of the four basic geometric symbols.

The basic geometric symbols

The first of the four geometric symbols represents Unity,The four basic symbols which contains all of them potentially:

  • The point generates the line or the segment;
  • The point (centre) and the segment (radius) generate the circle;
  • Two perpendicular lines form a cross.

In contrast to the point, the line or the circle, the cross is the only basic geometric symbol which spreads naturally in the two dimensions of the plan or the three dimensions of the space. In this respect, it plays a key role regarding spatial orientation.

Now, the three-dimensional cross can be defined in comparison with the observer or the observed world. In the first case it refers to the being and in the second to the Cosmos or the universal Existence.

The meaning of the cross

The meaning of the cross comes close to the specificity of the vertical and horizontal branches:

  • The vertical branch describes all the states carried by the being within himself or manifested through the Existence;
  • The horizontal branches depict the whole range of possibilities associated with a determined state of the being or Existence.

It follows a pre-eminence of the vertical branch over the horizontal plan which is taking, in the case of the two dimensions cross, the form of two distinct representations:

  • Drawn in the vertical plan, the cross (called Latin) is formed of unequal branches. It includes the totality of the states, the centres of which are located alongside the vertical. Their total embrace announces the being who will rejoin the Centre of all the states, the World Centre. He will become "the Universal man" just like the Christ who realized the union of the divine and human natures.
  • Defined in the horizontal plan, the cross (called Greek) has equal branches, for it represents any state, the centre of which spreads equally in all the directions. Rejoin the centre associated with this state means re-integrate all the possibilities contained in it. The discovery of fullness, human notably, allows the being to become a whole man, a "true man".

The World Centre is often symbolized by a flower: a lotus in the East, a rose in the West, a cactus in Central America etc. Placed at the crossing of two branches oriented according to the four compass points, the rose gave birth to the "compass rose" in Western countries.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

La croix dans toutes ses dimensions

(Résumé)

Le déploiement spatial

Le symbole de la croix se rencontre sous des formes diverses dans la plupart des traditions. Loin de se réduire à son seul aspect chrétien et historique, elle remonte aux temps les plus reculés et fait partie des quatre symboles géométriques fondamentaux.

Les symboles géométriques fondamentaux

Les quatre symboles fondamentauxCes symboles dérivent du premier d'entre eux représentant l'Unité, à savoir le point qui les contient tous en puissance:

  • Le point engendre le segment ou la ligne droite;
  • Le point (centre) et le segment (rayon) génèrent le cercle;
  • Deux lignes droites perpendiculaires forment une croix.

Contrairement au point, à la ligne droite ou au cercle, la croix est le seul symbole géométrique fondamental qui se déploie naturellement dans les deux dimensions du plan ou les trois dimensions de l'espace. À ce titre, elle joue un rôle capital en matière d'orientation dans l'espace.

Or, la croix tridimensionnelle peut être définie par rapport à l'observateur ou au monde observé. Dans le premier cas elle se réfère à l'être et dans le second au Cosmos ou à l'Existence universelle.

La signification de la croix

La signification de la croix relève de la spécificité des branches verticale et horizontales:

  • La branche verticale décrit la totalité des états que l'être porte en lui-même ou manifestés par l'Existence;
  • Les branches horizontales dépeignent l'ensemble des possibilités associées à un état déterminé de l'être ou de l'Existence.

Il s'ensuit une prééminence de la branche verticale sur le plan horizontal prenant, dans le cas de la croix à deux dimensions, la forme de deux représentations distinctes:

  • Dessinée dans le plan vertical, la croix (dite latine) est formée de branches inégales. Elle englobe la totalité des états dont les centres se situent le long de la verticale. Leur total embrassement annonce l'être qui va rejoindre le Centre de tous les états, le Centre du Monde. Il devient alors “l'Homme Universel” à l'image du Christ qui a réalisé l'union des natures divine et humaine.
  • Définie dans le plan horizontal, la croix (dite grecque) a des branches égales car elle représente un état d'être quelconque dont le centre se déploie également dans toutes les directions. Rejoindre le centre associé à cet état signifie ré-intégrer toutes les possibilités qu'il contient. La découverte de la plénitude, humaine notamment, permet alors à l'être de devenir un homme à part entière, un “homme véritable”.

Le Centre du Monde est souvent symbolisé par une fleur: un lotus en Orient, une rose en Occident, un cactus en Amérique centrale etc. Placée à la croisée de deux branches orientées selon les quatre points cardinaux, la rose a donné naissance, en Occident, à la “rose des vents”.

Page détaillée

Haut