The moon crescent

Abstract

Night and day

Representative of the passage from obscurity (new moon) to clarity (full moon) and vice versa, the crescent may be brought closer to the night and day cycle.

The night can take on various aspects according to the point of view considered:

  • On the physical and psychical plan, night represents: darkness, absence of light; the obscurity period only lightened by the lunar reflection of the sunlight; the time of absence of noise, sleep and dreams; the sensation test of cold, anguishes, interrogations and doubts.
  • On the symbolic plan, the night constitutes the reverse reflection of the day. The peak point of the day, the noon sun, finds its image in the night apogee, the midnight sun. The visible, white light is transformed into the invisible, black light. The variety of the daytime and manifestation world opens up the night world and the unity of the undifferentiated Principle. The external world is mirrored into the internal world.

Simultaneously within and beyond day, night represents the absence of light and its undifferentiated Principle, which is developing:

  • On the plan of the Cosmos (or macrocosm) while crossing successively three worlds (celestial, intermediary and terrestrial).
  • At the level of the individual (or microcosm) according to three orders of realization (spiritual, psychical and physical). Note that the psyche or soul constitutes with the body the human being or the individual. Beyond the human or individual states rise the supra-human states coming under the manifested as well as the non-manifested.

As a result of the undifferentiated Principle, source of all possibilities, the human being can only return towards his supra-human origin while climbing back up the main preceding steps:

The access gates to the different worldsAttaining the true light, the internal light goes through a series of obscure and luminous periods, of deaths to certain states of being and re-births into other states of a higher order. These changes of state are punctuated by three births (physical, psychical and spiritual). The first two belong to the individual human nature and to the Moon Sphere whereas the last refers to the supra-human order and the spiritual Sun domain. Consequently, two ways are offered to the being concerned by his fate:

  • The lunar way opening either on the human states only or on the spiritual or supra-human states distinctive to the cosmic world according to the spiritual degree achieved.
  • The solar way, the direct way giving access from the deepest cosmic night to the only true sun, the spiritual Sun of the supra-cosmic or non-manifested world.

These two ways use different gates opening or closing to certain states whether the being attains the superior state reverts back to other human states and that, independently of the traditional form considered.

The Moon, symbol of the Hindu tradition

Ganesh, God of Knowledge, symbolizes the cosmic and extra cosmic world. His head, endowed with a broken tusk, represents the non-manifested unity whereas his body depicts the dualistic perception of the manifestation.

Lunar symbolism of GaneshIn his lunar symbolism, the God is groomed with a crescent and holds an axe of a similar form in one of his hands. The instrument handle depicts the Axis of the Universe, the communication channel between the different worlds. Its blade that splits, breaks and generates sparks symbolizes the lightning, result of the interactions between clouds carrying water. It is a matter of Upper or celestial Waters associated with the supra-human states compared to the lower or terrestrial Waters, representing the human states only and distinctive to the Lunar sphere.

Ganesh rules over either the passage from lower towards Upper Waters or the way back to the lower Waters in accordance with the path followed: the “Path of the Gods” (dêva-yana) or the “Path of the Ancestors” (pitri-yana). Two ways summarized in these words by the Bhagavadgita: “Fire, light, day, increasing moon, ascent semester of the sun towards North” are the luminous signs leading to Brahma; “smoke, night, decreasing moon, descent semester of the sun towards South” are the dark signs of the way back to the Moon Sphere”. These two clear and obscure ways lead respectively to the non-manifested without any return and to the return to the manifested.

Made in the image of Ganesh, Janus rules over the being's fate in the Roman and Christian traditions.

The moon crescent, a Roman and Christian symbol

Janus, the Master of the two gatesEndowed with a double face, Janus is the gate guardian opening up the past and the future. The past represents the way back to the human states; the future, the way out from the human to the supra-human states. According to the way (solar or lunar) followed, the being will have to go through one or two gates to reach the supra-human states:

  • In Janus solar symbolism, the gate “Janua Coeli” opens up the extra cosmic world, the spiritual Sun, the midnight Sun, the non-manifested. This is the most difficult way, the narrow door, the eye of the needle according to the Gospels: “I say it for you again, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God” (Saint Matthew XIX.24).
  • In his lunar symbolism (Janus-Jana), two gates “Janua Coeli” and “Janua Inferni” respectively open up the cosmic Heaven and the Lunar sphere, on the supra-human states belonging to the cosmic sphere and the human states. According to his degree of spirituality, the being will have access to the supra-human states or be sent back to the human states.

The Virgin Mary on a moon crescent (Albrecht Dürer)Jana or Diana, often represented groomed with a crescent, is nothing but the feminine aspect of Janus. This picture can notably be found in the Christian iconography where the feet of the Virgin Mary rest on a moon crescent. Its horizontal layout evokes a small boat moving on the waters in two directions, towards the past or the future. It symbolizes the passage from one bank to the other, from a being's state to another one of higher order. It also depicts the walk on the lower Waters of the being having reached the Upper Water states, a symbol common to number of traditions other than Christian, Muslim notably.

The crescent, symbol of Islam

Muslim religious life is subjected to the lunar computes while the rhythms of the solar calendar rule the secular life. The appearance of the crescent in the ninth lunar month opens the Ramadan's fast which ends with the same crescent coming up with the following moon.

During the first phase of Ramadan associated with the waxing moon, the being is growing according to the image of the astral body brightness. At the full moon, the being can either leave the Lunar sphere forever or go back to obscurity during the second phase in relation to the waning moon.

Going out of the Lunar sphere means to leave definitively the apparent light for the true clarity. In fact, the Moon does nothing but reflect the sunlight and attaining the full light goes through a final way out of the Lunar sphere.

If the being cannot leave the Lunar sphere, he is condemned to remain in it and to rediscover the obscurity from which he comes. This is the case of those who must go through other states of the individual manifestation before claiming to gain access to supra-human states

Achieving, on the contrary, the fullness of the human potential means to leave forever the Lunar sphere, a release sign of the individual condition, to attain the supra-individual state sphere. The being, who got rid of the world restricted to the body and the psyche, has rejoined the world of the Spirit to become a true spiritual being.

The three cosmic worlds and the extra cosmic worldSuch are the two ways symbolized by the waxing Moon and the waning Moon. Two perceptible ways on the dome summit of the Mosques overhung with a crescent as well as on the flag drawings of Muslim countries. It is sufficient to observe the dome or the flag from every angle to realize it. For more details, see the symbolism of the flags carrying a crescent.

When three superimposed globes, overhung with a crescent, appear on the dome summit, they respectively represent the three cosmic worlds (Earth, Atmosphere and Heaven) and the extra cosmic world of the divine Majesty. The vertical stem supporting the whole symbolizes the Axis of the Universe. It is identical to the stupa axis of the Buddhist tradition.

The stupa overhung with a crescent, symbol of Buddhism

The stupa symbol composed of four geometrical figuresOriginally constructed to shelter the relics of the Buddha or his disciples, the stupa also contains a universal symbol.

The stupa, indeed, is often depicted as an image made up of four geometrical figures associated with the four elements piled up on top of each other according to their degree of density: square (Earth), circle (Water), triangle (Fire) and crescent (Air).

The element Air, symbolized by the crescent, comes in the form of a receptacle destined to receive a sacred deposit. This aspect is even reinforced when the crescent takes a horizontal shape (Horizontal crescent) and looks like a half moon (Half horizontal moon), which assimilates it to a bowl.

In the Buddhist tradition, the bowl is destined to receive the fifth element that contains all the others in an undifferentiated state, in a principial state, namely Ether. In a descending movement, the Ether is manifested through the appearance of the four elements; in an ascending movement, the four elements are resorbed into their principial state, into unity.

Now, while turning around the stupa, the waxing moon () becomes the waning moon () and vice versa. That suggests that the stupa symbolizes both ascending and descending movements. Result of the descending way from the unity state to his manifestation, the ordinary human being can only look for the lost unity while walking in the footsteps of the being without steps, the Buddha.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symbols of Sacred Science”. Sophia Perennis Publisher 2004;
  • Notably, chapter 58 devoted to Janua Coeli.
  • “Man and his Becoming according to the Vedanta”. Sophia Perennis Publisher 2001;
  • Especially, chapter 21 on the “divine voyage”.

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le croissant de lune

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

La nuit et le jour

Représentatif du passage de l'obscurité (de la nouvelle lune) à la clarté (de la pleine lune) et vice-versa, le croissant est susceptible d'être rapproché du cycle de la nuit et du jour.

La nuit peut revêtir divers aspects selon le point de vue considéré:

  • Au plan physique et psychique, la nuit représente les ténèbres, l'absence de lumière; la période d'obscurité éclairée par le seul reflet lunaire de la lumière du soleil; le temps propice à l'absence de bruits, au sommeil et aux rêves; l'épreuve des sensations de froid, d'angoisses, d'interrogations et de doutes.
  • Au plan symbolique, la nuit constitue le reflet inversé du jour. Le point culminant du jour, le soleil de midi, trouve son image dans l'apogée de la nuit, le soleil de minuit. La lumière visible, blanche se transforme en lumière invisible, noire. La diversité du monde diurne et manifesté s'ouvre sur le monde nocturne et l'Unité du Principe indifférencié. Le monde extérieur se mire dans le monde intérieur.

À la fois en deçà et au-delà du jour, la nuit représente l'absence de lumière et son Principe indifférencié qui se développe:

  • Au plan du Cosmos (ou macrocosme) en traversant successivement trois mondes (céleste, intermédiaire et terrestre).
  • Au niveau de l'individu (ou microcosme) selon trois ordres de réalisation (spirituel, psychique et corporel). Notons que la psyché ou l'âme constitue avec le corps l'être humain ou l'individu. Au-delà des états humains ou individuels s'élèvent les états supra-humains relevant aussi bien du manifesté que du non manifesté.

Produit du Principe indifférencié, source de tous les possibles, l'être humain ne peut que retourner vers son origine supra-humaine en remontant les grandes étapes précédentes:

Les portes d'accès aux différents mondesAtteindre la véritable lumière, la lumière intérieure passe par une série de périodes obscures et lumineuses, de morts à certains états d'être et de re-naissances dans d'autres états d'ordre plus élevés. Ces changements d'états sont ponctués par les trois naissances de l'être (physique, psychique et spirituelle). Les deux premières tiennent à la nature humaine de l'individu et sont propres à la Sphère de la Lune tandis que la dernière est d'ordre supra-humain et relève du domaine du Soleil spirituel. En conséquence, deux voies s'offrent à l'être soucieux de sa destinée:

  • La voie lunaire s'ouvrant soit sur les seuls états humains soit sur les états spirituels ou supra-humains propres au monde cosmique selon le degré de spiritualité atteint.
  • La voie solaire ou la voie directe donnant accès du fond de la nuit cosmique au seul véritable soleil, au Soleil spirituel du monde supra-cosmique ou non manifesté.

Ces deux voies empruntent des portes différentes qui s'ouvrent ou se ferment à certains états selon que l'être accède aux états d'ordre supérieur ou retourne vers d'autres états humains et cela indépendamment de la forme traditionnelle considérée.

La Lune, symbole de la tradition hindoue

Ganesh, dieu de la Connaissance, symbolise le monde cosmique et extra-cosmique. Sa tête, dotée d'une défense brisée, représente l'Unité du non manifesté tandis que son corps dépeint la perception dualiste de la manifestation.

Symbolisme lunaire de GaneshDans son symbolisme lunaire, le dieu est coiffé d'un croissant et tient une hache de forme similaire dans l'une de ses mains. Le manche de l'instrument figure l'Axe de l'Univers, canal de communication entre les différents mondes. Sa lame qui fend, brise et génère des étincelles symbolise la foudre, résultat des interactions entre les nuages porteurs de pluie. Il s'agit des Eaux supérieures ou célestes associées aux états supra-humains par opposition aux Eaux inférieures ou terrestres représentatives des seuls états humains et propres à la sphère de la Lune.

Ganesh préside soit au passage des Eaux inférieures vers les Eaux supérieures soit au retour vers les Eaux inférieures selon que les êtres suivent la “Voie des Dieux” (dêva-yâna) ou la “Voie des Ancêtres” (pitri-yâna). Deux voies résumées ainsi par la Bhagavad-Gîtâ: “Feu, lumière, jour, lune croissante, semestre ascendant du soleil vers le nord, c'est sous ces signes lumineux que vont à Brahma les hommes qui connaissent Brahma. Fumée, nuit, lune décroissante, semestre descendant du soleil vers le sud, c'est sous ces signes d'ombre qu'ils vont à la Sphère de la Lune”. Ces deux voies claire et obscure mènent respectivement au non manifesté sans retour au manifesté et au retour dans le manifesté.

A l'image de Ganesh, Janus préside à la destinée des êtres dans les traditions romaine et chrétienne.

Le croissant de lune, symbole romain et chrétien

Janus, le Maître des deux portesDoté d'un double visage, Janus est le gardien des portes s'ouvrant sur le passé et l'avenir. Le passé représente la voie du retour vers les états humains; l'avenir, la voie de sortie des états humains vers les états supra-humains. Selon la voie (solaire ou lunaire) empruntée, l'être devra franchir une ou deux portes pour accéder aux états supra-humains:

  • Dans le symbolisme solaire de Janus, la porte “Janua Coeli” ouvre sur le monde extra-cosmique, le Soleil spirituel, le Soleil de minuit, le non manifesté. C'est la voie la plus difficile, la porte étroite, le trou de l'aiguille selon l'Évangile: “Je vous le dis encore, il est plus facile à un chameau de passer par le trou d'une aiguille qu'à un riche d'entrer dans le royaume de Dieu” (Saint Matthieu XIX.24).
  • Dans son symbolisme lunaire (Janus-Jana), deux portes “Janua Coeli” et “Janua Inferni” ouvrent respectivement sur le Ciel cosmique et la sphère lunaire, sur les états supra-humains appartenant à la sphère cosmique et les états humains. Selon son degré de spiritualité, l'être aura accès aux états supra-humains ou sera renvoyé vers les états humains.

La Vierge Marie sur un croissant de lune (Albrecht Dürer)Jana ou Diana, souvent représentée coiffée d'un croissant, n'est autre que l'aspect féminin de Janus. Cette image se retrouve notamment dans l'iconographie chrétienne où les pieds de la Vierge Marie reposent sur un croissant de lune. Sa disposition horizontale évoque la barque se déplaçant sur les eaux dans les deux sens, vers le passé ou vers l'avenir. Elle symbolise le passage d'une rive à l'autre, d'un état d'être à un autre état d'ordre plus élevé. Elle dépeint aussi la marche sur les Eaux inférieures de l'être ayant atteint les états des Eaux supérieures, un symbole commun à nombre de traditions autres que chrétienne, musulmane notamment.

Le croissant, symbole de l'Islam

La vie religieuse musulmane est soumise aux computs lunaires tandis que le calendrier solaire rythme la vie profane. L'apparition du croissant au neuvième mois lunaire ouvre le jeûne du Ramadan qui s'achève avec la venue du même croissant à la lune suivante.

Au cours de la première phase du Ramadan associée à la lune croissante, l'être grandit à l'image de l'éclat de l'astre. À la pleine lune, l'être peut soit sortir à jamais de la Sphère de la Lune soit retourner à l'obscurité durant la deuxième phase en relation avec la lune décroissante.

Sortir de la sphère lunaire signifie quitter définitivement la lumière apparente pour la clarté véritable. En effet, la Lune ne fait que réfléchir la lumière du Soleil et accéder à la pleine lumière passe par une sortie définitive de la sphère lunaire.

Si l'être ne peut quitter la Sphère de la Lune, il est condamné à rester en son sein et à retrouver l'obscurité d'où il vient. C'est le cas de ceux qui doivent encore passer par d'autres états de la manifestation individuelle avant de prétendre accéder aux états supra-humains.

Atteindre au contraire la plénitude des possibilités humaines signifie quitter à jamais la sphère lunaire, signe de délivrance de la condition individuelle, pour atteindre la sphère des états supra-individuels. L'être, qui en a fini avec le monde restreint au corps et à la psyché, a rejoint le monde de l'Esprit pour devenir un être véritablement spirituel.

Les trois mondes cosmiques et le monde extra-cosmiqueTelles sont les deux voies symbolisées par la Lune croissante et la Lune décroissante. Deux voies perceptibles aussi bien au sommet du dôme des mosquées surplombé d'un croissant que sur les dessins des drapeaux des pays de confession musulmane. Il suffit d'observer le dôme ou le drapeau sous toutes ses faces ou coutures pour s'en rendre compte. Voir le symbolisme des drapeaux porteurs du croissant pour plus de détails sur ce point.

Lorsque trois globes superposés, surmontés d'un croissant, apparaissent au sommet du dôme, ils représentent respectivement les trois mondes cosmiques (Terre, Atmosphère et Ciel) et le monde extra-cosmique de la Majesté divine. La tige verticale soutenant l'ensemble symbolise l'Axe de l'Univers. Elle est identique à l'axe du stûpa de la tradition bouddhique.

Le stûpa surmonté d'un croissant, symbole du bouddhisme

Symbole du stûpa composé de quatre figures géométriquesOriginellement construit pour abriter les reliques du Bouddha ou de ses disciples, le stûpa renferme également un symbole universel.

Le stûpa est, en effet, souvent représenté par une image composée de quatre figures géométriques associées aux quatre éléments empilés les uns sur les autres en fonction de leur degré de densité: carré (Terre), cercle (Eau), triangle (Feu) et croissant (Air).

L'élément Air, symbolisé par le croissant, se présente comme un réceptacle destiné à recevoir un dépôt sacré. Cet aspect est encore renforcé lorsque le croissant prend une forme horizontale (Croissant horizontal) et de demi-lune (Demi-lune horizontale) qui l'assimile à une coupe.

Dans la tradition bouddhiste, la coupe est destinée à recevoir le cinquième élément qui contient tous les autres à l'état indifférencié, à l'état de principe, à savoir l'Éther. Dans un mouvement descendant, l'Éther se manifeste sous l'apparence des quatre éléments; dans un mouvement ascendant, les quatre éléments sont résorbés dans leur état de principe, d'unité.

Or, en tournant autour du stûpa, la lune croissante (Lune croissante) devient lune décroissante (Lune décroissante) et vice-versa. Cela suggère que le stûpa symbolise à la fois les deux mouvements ascendant et descendant. Produit de la voie descendante depuis l'état unitaire jusqu'à sa manifestation, l'être humain ordinaire ne peut que partir à la recherche de l'unité perdue en marchant sur les traces de l'Être sans trace, le Bouddha.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symboles de la Science sacrée”. Éditions Gallimard 1962;
  • Notamment, le chapitre LVIII consacré à Janua Coeli.
  • “L'homme et son devenir selon le Vêdânta”. Éditions Traditionnelles 1991;
  • Spécialement, le chapitre XXI sur le “voyage divin”.
Haut