The moon crescent

(Abstract)

The moon phases

The crescent is often associated with the two phases of the waxing moon (between the new moon and the full moon) and the waning moon (between the full moon and the following new moon) 1. The passage from obscurity (new moon) to clarity (full moon) and vice versa brings the moon phases closer to the night and day cycle.

The day symbolizes the light that illuminates everything and, in particular, the world manifestation.

The night not only represents the absence of light, but also its undifferentiated Principle, source of clarity. Regarding this subject, the Islamic tradition speaks of the midnight sun.

Result of the manifestation of the Principle, the being can only return towards the same Principle, which has given birth to him.

This return voyage is made in the image of the moon phases. Thrown into obscurity, representative of ignorance, the being travels towards clarity during the phase associated with the ascending moon. At the full moon and according to the spirituality degree achieved, he can either leave the lunar sphere for the full light of which the moon constitutes only a reflection or return to the obscurity he comes from during the phase linked to the descending moon.

The way out of the lunar sphere or apparent light for the true clarity will be final. The way back to the obscure world will last the time necessary for the preparation of a new exit attempt.

This picture of the moon phases is not only a characteristic of the Islamic tradition, but of most other traditions.

1 back A very simple way to know the moon phases, in the Northern as well as in the Southern hemisphere, consist in looking at the sky in the evening or in the morning. Visible in the evening, the moon is waxing (Waxing moon); observable in the morning, it is waning (Waning moon).

Detailed page

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le croissant de lune

(Résumé)

Les phases de la lune

Le croissant est souvent associé aux deux phases de la lune croissante (entre la nouvelle lune et la pleine lune) et de la lune décroissante (entre la pleine lune et la nouvelle lune suivante) 1. Le passage de l'obscurité (de la nouvelle lune) à la clarté (de la pleine lune) et vice-versa rapproche les phases de la lune du cycle de la nuit et du jour.

Le jour symbolise la lumière qui illumine tout et nous éclaire sur la manifestation du monde.

La nuit représente non seulement l'absence de lumière, mais également son Principe indifférencié, source de clarté. À ce propos, la tradition islamique parle du soleil de minuit.

Produit de la manifestation du Principe, l'être ne peut que retourner vers ce même Principe qui lui a donné le jour.

Ce voyage de retour est à l'image des phases de la lune. Plongé dans l'obscurité représentative de l'ignorance, l'être s'achemine vers la clarté au cours de la phase associée à la lune croissante. À la pleine lune et selon le degré de spiritualité atteint, il peut soit quitter la sphère lunaire pour la pleine lumière dont la lune ne constitue qu'un reflet soit retourner à l'obscurité d'où il vient au cours de la phase liée à la lune décroissante.

La sortie de la sphère lunaire ou de la lumière apparente pour la clarté véritable sera définitive. Le retour à l'obscurité du monde durera le temps nécessaire à la préparation d'une nouvelle tentative de sortie.

Cette image des phases de la lune est non seulement caractéristique de la tradition islamique, mais de la plupart des autres traditions.

1 retour Un moyen très simple de connaître les phases de la lune, aussi bien dans l'hémisphère nord que dans l'hémisphère sud, consiste à regarder le ciel le soir ou le matin. Visible le soir, la lune est croissante (Lune croissante); observable le matin, elle est décroissante (Lune décroissante).

Page détaillée

Haut