LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The Celtic cross

(Summary)

The five kingdoms

The Celtic cross has become so famous these days that its notoriety overflows, as the drawing of its branches, the circle of the traditional Celtic regions (Wales, Scotland or Ireland).

Celtic crosses with equal and unequal branchesThis revival, especially under the form of equal branches, is partly due to the use of the symbol as the swastika at a certain time. Now, this misuse treats the true meaning of these representations with disdain. It is therefore appropriate to go back to the source and rediscover the real signification of the Celtic cross.

The origin of the symbol of the cross in general and the Celtic cross in particular dates back to the dawn of time. Its meaning is closely linked to the number 5 = 1 + 4: 1 depicts the Unity, the Principle, the Centre from which everything is coming and to which everything is going back alongside the 4 compass point directions. The branches overflowing the circle suggest that the manifestation of the Centre and the way back to the Centre operate well beyond the limits of the human sphere and cover the space immensity.

Division of Ireland into four plus one provincesAn illustration of this meaning is given by Ireland itself, a country divided in the old days into five kingdoms of which one carried the name of “Mide” or “Midh” (from the ancient Celt “medion” or Middle). The kingdom of “Midh” was formed from removed territories of the four other provinces. This central region constituted the domain of the supreme king that had authority over the other kings.

The division of Ireland into four kingdoms plus the central region is related to the most ancient traditions, notably Chinese and Indian where the four Masters presided over the four compass points. The island of Ireland was for this reason called the “island of the four Masters” or else the “green island” (Erin). Now, these denominations did traditionally refer to another land, a lot more northern and unknown, where one of the main spiritual centres, or even the supreme Centre 1, was in the old times.

This division of the Irish territory should consequently be more understood in a symbolic rather than in a geographic or historic way. The four provinces are described by the four branches of the cross, the fifth one by their intersection and the outline of the island by the circle. The immensity of the ocean lets us glimpse at endless possibilities of territorial discoveries and, in particular, of the supreme region. This distant region infers that the true Centre of the cross could not necessarily be located at the branch crossing.

1 back The adoption of the green colour to characterize the supreme land should not be surprising. In all Celtic languages, the same word “glas” refers at the same time to the main colour in the sky (blue) and on earth (green). The choice of that (double) colour underlines the union of Heaven and Earth within the primeval tradition.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

La croix celtique

(Résumé)

Les cinq royaumes

La croix celtique connaît de nos jours une notoriété qui déborde, à l'image du dessin de ses branches, le cercle des seules régions traditionnellement celtes (Pays de Galles, Écosse ou Irlande).

Croix celtiques à branches égales et inégalesCe renouveau, surtout sous sa forme à branches égales, est en partie dû à une utilisation partisane du symbole à l'instar du swastika à une certaine époque. Or, ces tendances font fi du vrai sens de ces représentations. Il est en conséquence opportun de retourner à la source et de retrouver la véritable signification de la croix celtique.

L'origine du symbole de la croix en général et de la croix celtique en particulier remonte à la nuit des temps. Son sens est étroitement lié au nombre 5 = 1 + 4: 1 dépeint l'Unité, le Principe, le Centre d'où tout provient et où tout retourne selon les 4 directions cardinales. Les branches débordant le cercle suggèrent que la manifestation du Centre et le retour au Centre opèrent bien au-delà des limites de la sphère humaine et embrassent l'immensité de l'espace.

Division de l'Irlande en quatre provinces plus uneUne illustration de ce sens nous est fournie par l'Irlande elle-même, un pays autrefois divisé en cinq royaumes dont l'un portait le nom de “Mide” ou “Midhe” (de l'ancien celte “medion” ou Milieu). Le royaume de “Midhe” était formé à partir de territoires prélevés sur les quatre autres provinces. Cette région centrale constituait le domaine du roi suprême qui avait autorité sur les autres rois.

La division de l'Irlande en quatre royaumes plus la région centrale se rattachait aux traditions les plus anciennes, notamment chinoise et indienne où les quatre Maîtres présidaient aux quatre points cardinaux. L'île d'Irlande fut pour cette raison appelée “l'île des quatre Maîtres” ou encore “l'île verte” (Erin). Or, ces appellations faisaient traditionnellement référence à une autre terre beaucoup plus septentrionale et inconnue, siège de l'un des principaux centres spirituels, voire du Centre suprême 1, dans les temps anciens.

Cette division du territoire irlandais doit en conséquence être davantage prise dans un sens symbolique que géographique ou historique. Les quatre provinces sont décrites par les quatre branches de la croix, la cinquième par leur intersection et le contour de l'île par le cercle. L'immensité de l'océan nous permet d'entrevoir des possibilités sans nombre de découvertes de territoires et, en particulier, de la contrée suprême. Cette terre lointaine nous laisse pressentir que le véritable Centre de la croix pourrait ne pas nécessairement se trouver à la croisée des chemins.

1 retour L'adoption de la couleur verte pour caractériser la contrée suprême ne devrait pas nous surprendre. Dans toutes les langues celtiques, un même mot “glas” désigne à la fois la couleur dominante dans le ciel (bleu) et sur terre (vert). Le choix de cette couleur (double) souligne l'union du Ciel et de la Terre au sein de la tradition primordiale.

Page détaillée

Haut