LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Colours, compass points and elements

(Detailed page)

Summary

Introduction

As mentioned in the abstract page of this article, four basic diagrams will be useful to determine the colours of the cardinal points in several traditional forms. They will bring together the six most widespread colours in ancient societies (white, red, yellow, green, blue and black) with the six directions of space:

Basic diagrams to determine the colour of the compass points

Christianity
Christian and Hinduism colours

Greece and India
Greek and Indian colours

Ancient China
Chinese colours

Mayas of Guatemala
Mayan colours

In this article, we will study the colours of the compass points and, in some traditional forms, connect them to elements. Before going further, let us remind that the elements of the various traditional forms have nothing in common with the chemical elements at the root of the composition of bodies in general. They are elementary principles of the manifestation of physical bodies only. Moreover, the various bodies, unlike the chemical compounds, contain all the elements in various proportions.

Colours of the stained-glass windows in cathedrals

As in a fair number of traditional forms, Christianity had chosen to turn towards the rising sun, or east, to build up its churches (for more details, see the Romanesque basilica). The entry of the sanctuary, located in the west, led the faithful progressing from darkness (west) towards light (east) while following the sun's path. For the builders of the Gothic cathedrals in particular, the construction of the building had to contribute foremost to raise the soul of the faithful towards the celestial heights.

The object of the stained glass windows consisted in letting the celestial light enter the cathedrals in a softened way in accordance with the capacities of reception of the terrestrial being. Moreover, their orientation according to the cardinal points had to reflect the daily or seasonal path of the sun. For this purpose, they lightened the inside of the building with a dominant colour in harmony with their orientation:

  • Blue for north, night and winter; in the absence of the sun rays, the stained-glass window received the light of Heaven;
  • Green for east, rising light and spring revival;
  • Yellow for south, midday and summer;
  • Red for west, twilight and autumn.

These four cardinal directions were completed with two vertical directions symbolized by white for zenith and black for nadir.

Christian and Hinduism colours

When the faithful enters the cathedral, he is facing east and will go through the building while following the diurnal cycle of the sun; he will finish a cycle at the west before undertaking another one. During each cycle, he will travel through the colours of the rainbow spectrum, the true bridge between Earth and Heaven, from “bottom” to “top”. the raising will continue until the faithful rejoins the centre, the intersection point of the six directions of space, and rises towards light up to the zenith.

Curiously, the same colours characterized the “House of Regeneration” in ancient Egypt. It was the place where funerary rites were practiced to accompany the deceased during his voyage towards the beyond.

The Egyptian, Biblical, Greek and Hermetic doctrines

All these traditional forms are gathered around a common characteristic: they are orientated towards the rising sun, i.e. east.

The elements or principles common to these traditions are fire, air, water and earth according to the hierarchical order prescribed par Plato and his disciple Aristotle. However, the elements arrangement according to the compass points has to be in harmony with the colour arrangement. Now, the four colours associated with the compass points are two by two complementary (red and green, yellow and blue). And the four elements are also two by two complementary (fire and water, air and earth). The superposition of the complementary couples regarding colours and elements, as in the following diagrams, will ensure the required coherence:

Greek and Indian coloursCompass point and element colours in Greece

In this last diagram fire is red, air yellow, water green and earth blue. Why could south not be yellow and east red ? And why could air not be blue and earth yellow ? For a very simple reason which has more to do with a symbolic than a descriptive approach. Indeed, the elements can not be exchanged according to one's wishes; they proceed from each other in the strict order defined by Plato: fire is to air as air is to water and water to earth. And the manifestation of this hierarchical order perfectly agrees with the downward sequence of the four colours (red, yellow, green and blue) of the rainbow.

According to Aristotle and especially the hermetic tradition, the manifestation of elements is carried out from their unified state, symbolized by a fifth element, ether. Ether is also sometimes called “quintessence”, which is wrong considering its substantial and non essential character. As ether contains the other elements in an undifferentiated state, it is natural to place it at the intersection point of the axes, the centre and give it a neutral grey colour.

The Hindu doctrine

Like the Greek traditional form, the Hindu tradition is oriented towards east. The elements of the doctrine symbolize the elementary principles at the origin of the manifestation of (physical) bodies. Named bhûtas (substantial physical beings), they are five in number and presented in the following order: ākāśa (ether), vāyu (air), tejas (fire), ap (water) and prithvī (earth). This order differs from the Greek one by the inversion of fire and air. The elements are ordered according to increasing density in agreement with their material manifestation and decreasing density at the time of their return towards the unified state, symbolized by the undifferentiated element ether.

In accordance with the diagrams examined until now, the manifestation of the elements is simultaneously carried out in two directions, horizontal and vertical. The differentiation of the elements originates from ether where the trends of horizontal and vertical expansion balance perfectly. When their manifestation occurs, this balance is broken in favour of the trend closest to the initial balance. It can only be the horizontal expansion which equally spreads on both sides of the centre. This trend is naturally associated with air. After the manifestation of air, comes the manifestation of the elements where the vertical trend prevails. Firstly fire where the upward expansion dominates, followed by water and earth marked by the opposite trend. All that shows that we are in presence of a production order.

Generally speaking, the elements are manifested according to the proportion of the two types of expansion, horizontal or fluidity and vertical or density. As a principle, ether dominates all the other elements. Therefore, it is located “above” the others due to its obvious faculty of upward expansion.

Cardinal colours in HindouismCompass point and element colours in Hindouism

In the Hindu tradition, the expansion is related to the integral development of the being and results from the interaction of two principles: Purusha, the male, active, essential and immutable principle which actualizes the possibilities of Prakriti, the female, passive, substantial and undifferentiated principle.

Prakriti contains, at a unified state, three qualities that constitute beings and things, the three gunas. At the time of the interaction between the essence Purusha and the substance Prakriti, the initial balance between the three gunas is broken; they appear in beings and things as a mix of:

  • The three gunasSattwa that expresses the accordance of the being with the essence and corresponds to the vertical ascent related to the white colour;
  • Rajas that represents the development of the being according to a given state, in relation to the horizontal expansion and red colour;
  • Tamas that depicts the identification of the being with darkness and ignorance characterized by the vertical descent and black colour.

Let us specify that the three gunas are not being's states, but conditions of the integral manifestation of beings apart from any state of existence.

After having approached the hierarchical order with the Greek doctrine and the production order with the Hindu doctrine, we will examine the Chinese doctrine coming under different orders.

The Chinese doctrine

Yang and yin

Ancient China has mostly adopted an orientation turned towards south, yang, and marginally towards north, yin (see the Chinese tradition for more details). Yang and yin constitute the two great principles of this tradition:

  • Yang characterizes the predominance of all that is active, positive, male, luminous, clear…; it is represented by the white colour;
  • Yin characterizes the prevalence of all that is passive, negative, female, obscure, gloomy…; it is illustrated by the black colour.

The vertical yin-Yang symbolLet us stress that the comprehension of the Chinese thought goes through the absence of judgement regarding these categories, for all things are made of yin and yang in various proportions. Yang and yin can never be separated just as south (or east) can not be cut off from north (or west). They constitute a couple of complements as in the famous yin-yang symbol. In this denomination, yin comes before yang in accordance with a cosmological vision turned towards yang, south.

Complementary couples of colours such as (white, black), (red, green) or (yellow, purple) can be related to the couple (yang, yin). That does not mean that white, red or yellow, taken separately, are yang for all that. These colours are only yang relatively to their complementary colour yin.

Colours of the compass points and elements

In the first diagram below, white is associated with zenith and black with nadir. Moreover, the south-north and east-west axes are respectively connected to the couples of colours (red, green) and (blue, yellow).

Chinese colours

The previous diagram can be related to the “elements” of the Chinese tradition. They are five, in number and called water, wood, fire, earth and metal in their (cyclic) production order. As in other traditions, these elements symbolize elementary principles at the origin of the manifestation of the physical world; they have, more appropriately, been called (operational) agents by Marcel Granet.

The peculiar nature of these elements led to complete the cyclic production (or generation) order by a second cyclic destruction order: wood, earth, water, fire and metal.

To go from the previous diagram to the element diagram, it is advisable to proceed through several operations:

  • A projection of white on the horizontal plane to occupy the place of yellow; yellow migrates towards the centre, moving away from yin and closer to yang before carrying out a perfect balance between both aspects;
  • The projection of black on the same horizontal plane to occupy the place of green; green moves in turn towards blue to give, through mixture, a blue-green or turquoise colour.

Colors cardinal points in ChinaCompass point and element colours in China

Having reached this point, a question arises. How can the element earth take part in various cyclic orders in the same way as the other elements and simultaneously occupy the centre ? If we refer to what we have seen, earth can not contain the other elements in an undifferentiated state. In fact, this arrangement results from the interaction of yang and yin in relation to the cardinal points. Earth characterizes the state of balance between yang and yin, between fire and wood yang and metal and water yin. This arrangement could reflect the following “hierarchical” order: fire, wood, earth, metal and water.

A second question follows. Why earth rather than another element ? Within the fundamental polarity between Heaven and Earth, Earth is associated with the physical manifestation and it is natural to consider that the element earth may play a privileged role among the other elements during this process.

Lastly, why is the element earth associated with yellow ? Just as earth occupies the centre of the diagram of the cardinal points, yellow corresponds to a median colour of the rainbow. In China, the rainbow covers four colours: red, yellow, green, blue.

The Ming Tang coloursThe centre symbolizes the “Invariable Middle”, the place where the union between the celestial and terrestrial influences takes place. It characterizes the place where the mediator between Heaven and Earth, the Emperor, is standing in the the Ming Tang (“the temple of Light”), before promulgating the orders destined to regulate the Empire. As the temple is orientated according to the cardinal points and contains nine rooms, it is reasonable to associate yellow with the central room, the colours of the cardinal points with the rooms orientated towards these points and the intermediate colours with the other rooms as in the above image.

The relationships between colours, compass points and elements are summarized in the following table:

Orientation Nature Element Colour
south yang fire
east yang wood
centre yang-yin earth
west yin metal
north yin water

The Maya's doctrine

Corn constituted the basic food of the Mayas and the basic element of their worship. The word Maya as such derives from the word corn. According to “Popol Vuh”, the Book of Councel, which recalls the myth of creation of the Maya-Quiche World, the first four men and first four women were begotten by gods from corn paste.

The colours of the four compass directions are not randomly selected. Indeed, they are colours that corn grains can take on: yellow, red, white and black (purplish).

The passage of the basic diagram to the element diagram is carried out according to the following operations:

  • The projection of white on the horizontal plane to occupy the place of blue which migrates towards the centre;
  • The projection of black on the same horizontal plane to take the place of green which also migrates towards the centre;
  • The centre is occupied by the mixture of blue and green, i.e. the colour blue-green or turquoise.

Cardinal colours at the MayasCompass point and element colours among the Mayas

The colours of the compass points symbolized the life cycle: to the east, red was associated with birth; at the south, yellow represented life itself; in the west, black characterized darkness and death; to the north, white expressed regeneration. Let us notice that this cycle follows, as it should be the case, the sun's path.

In the Maya and, more generally, Amerindian tradition, turquoise was the stone of gods who were often equipped with a turquoise attribute.

Conclusion

In all the traditions studied previously, the four cardinal directions start from the centre which symbolizes the point of balance between brightness (south, east) and darkness (north, west) or between yang and yin. The colours of the cardinal points and associated elements differ according to the cultural backgrounds of the concerned traditions.

The elements associated with the cardinal points can:

  • either be gathered in a fifth element located at the centre and containing all of them in an undifferentiated state;
  • or find their point of balance between yang and yin in a fifth element located at the centre.

It follows that the centre constitutes:

  • either the starting point of the manifestation of the elements associated with the cardinal points and the return point of the same elements into their undifferentiated state;
  • or the point of passage or transition between the yang and yin elements within their “hierarchical” order.

The previous development shows the specificity of the Chinese tradition based, as in all things, on the yang and yin dynamics.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “Studies in Hinduism”, 1968 Sophia Perennis Publisher, 2001;
  • In particular, “The Hindou theory of the five elements”.
  • “The Great Triad”, South Asia Books Publisher.
  • Notably, chapter 8 on “Celestial numbers and terrestrial numbers”, Albin Michel Publisher, 1988.
  • Marcel Granet:
  • “The Chinese Thought”, Albin Michel Publisher, 1988.
  • In particular, the chapter on “Numbers”
  • Albert-Vanel:
  • “The spirituality of colour”. Color Messenger Publisher, 2012;
  • A synthesis on the role of colour in ancient societies.
Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Couleurs, points cardinaux et éléments

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Introduction

Comme mentionné dans la page résumé de cet article, quatre diagrammes de base seront utiles pour déterminer les couleurs des points cardinaux dans plusieurs formes traditionnelles. Ils mettront en rapport les six couleurs les plus répandues dans les sociétés anciennes (blanc, rouge, jaune, vert, bleu, noir) avec les six directions de l'espace:

Diagrammes de base pour déterminer la couleur des points cardinaux

Chrétienté
Couleurs chrétienté et Hindouisme

Grèce et Inde
Couleurs en Grèce et Inde

Chine ancienne
Couleurs et Chine

Mayas du Guatemala
Couleurs chez les Mayas

Dans cet article, nous allons étudier les couleurs des points cardinaux et, dans certaines des formes traditionnelles, les relier aux éléments. Avant de poursuivre plus avant, rappelons que les éléments des diverses formes traditionnelles n'ont rien de commun avec les éléments chimiques à la base de la composition des corps en général. Ce sont des principes élémentaires de la manifestation des seuls corps physiques. De plus, contrairement aux composés chimiques, les différents corps renferment l'ensemble des éléments dans des proportions variées.

La couleur des vitraux des cathédrales

Comme dans nombre de formes traditionnelles, la chrétienté avait choisi de se tourner vers le soleil levant, ou l'est, pour construire ses églises (pour davantage de détails, voir la basilique romane). L'entrée du sanctuaire, située à l'ouest, amenait le fidèle à progresser de l'obscurité (ouest) vers la lumière (est) en suivant la course du soleil. Pour les bâtisseurs des cathédrales gothiques en particulier, la construction de l'édifice devait contribuer avant tout à élever l'âme des fidèles vers les hauteurs célestes.

L'objet des vitraux consistait à laisser entrer la lumière céleste dans les cathédrales sous une forme atténuée en accord avec les capacités de réception de l'être terrestre. De plus, leur orientation selon les points cardinaux devait refléter la course journalière ou saisonnière du soleil. À cette fin, ils éclairaient l'intérieur de l'édifice d'une couleur dominante en harmonie avec leur orientation:

  • Le bleu pour le nord, la nuit et l'hiver; à défaut des rayons du soleil, le vitrail recevait la lumière du Ciel;
  • Le vert pour l'est, la lumière naissante et le renouveau printanier;
  • Le jaune pour le sud, le midi et l'été;
  • Le rouge pour l'ouest, le crépuscule et l'automne.

Ces quatre directions cardinales étaient complétées par les deux directions verticales symbolisées par le blanc pour le zénith et le noir pour le nadir.

Couleurs chrétienté et Hindouisme

Lorsque le fidèle entre dans la cathédrale, il fait face à l'est et va parcourir l'édifice en suivant le cycle diurne du soleil; il terminera un cycle à l'ouest avant d'en entreprendre un autre. Au cours de chaque cycle, il parcourra des couleurs du spectre de l'arc-en-ciel, véritable pont entre la Terre et le Ciel, de “bas” en “haut”. L'élévation se poursuivra jusqu'à ce que le fidèle rejoigne le centre, le point d'intersection des six directions de l'espace, et s'élève vers la lumière jusqu'au zénith.

Curieusement, ces mêmes couleurs caractérisaient la “Maison de Régénération” de l'Égypte ancienne. Il s'agissait du lieu où se pratiquaient les rites funéraires destinés à accompagner le défunt durant son voyage vers l'au-delà.

Les doctrines égyptienne, biblique, grecque et hermétiste

Toutes ces formes traditionnelles sont rassemblées auto ur d'une caractéristique commune: elles sont orientées vers le soleil levant, c'est-à-dire vers l'est.

Les éléments ou principes communs à ces traditions sont le feu, l'air, l'eau et la terre selon l'ordre hiérarchique prescrit par Platon et son disciple Aristote. La disposition des éléments selon les points cardinaux doit cependant s'accorder avec celle des couleurs. Or, les quatre couleurs associées aux points cardinaux sont deux à deux complémentaires (rouge et vert, jaune et bleu). Et les quatre éléments se complètent également deux à deux (feu et eau, air et terre). La superposition des couples complémentaires de couleurs et d'éléments, comme dans les diagrammes suivants, va assurer la cohérence recherchée:

Couleurs en Grèce et IndeCouleurs points cardinaux et éléments en Grèce

Dans ce dernier diagramme le feu est rouge, l'air jaune, l'eau verte et la terre bleue. Pourquoi le sud ne serait-il pas jaune et l'est rouge ? Et pourquoi l'air ne pourrait-il pas être bleu et la terre jaune ? Pour une raison toute simple qui tient davantage d'une approche symbolique que descriptive. En effet, les éléments ne sont pas permutables à souhait; ils procèdent l'un de l'autre dans l'ordre strict défini par Platon: le feu est à l'air, ce que l'air est à l'eau et l'eau à la terre. Et la manifestation de cet ordre hiérarchique s'accorde parfaitement avec la séquence descendante des quatre couleurs (rouge, jaune, vert et bleu) de l'arc-en-ciel.

Selon Aristote et surtout la tradition hermétiste, la manifestation des éléments s'effectue depuis leur état unifié, symbolisé par un cinquième élément, l'éther. L'éther est aussi parfois appelé “quintessence”, à tort vu son caractère substantiel et non essentiel. Comme l'éther renferme les autres éléments à l'état indifférencié, il est naturel de le placer au point d'intersection des axes, au centre et de lui donner une couleur gris-neutre.

La doctrine hindoue

Comme la forme traditionnelle grecque, la tradition hindoue se tourne vers l'est pour s'orienter. Les éléments de la doctrine symbolisent les principes élémentaires à l'origine de la manifestation des corps (physiques). Dénommés bhûtas (êtres physiques substantiels), ils sont au nombre de cinq et présentés dans l'ordre suivant: âkâsha (éther), vâyu (air), têjas (feu), ap (eau) et prithvî (terre). Cet ordre diffère de celui des grecs par l'inversion de feu et de l'air. Les éléments sont ordonnés selon la densité croissante en accord avec leur manifestation matérielle et la densité décroissante lors de leur retour vers l'état unifié, symbolisé par l'élément indifférencié éther.

Conformément aux diagrammes examinés jusqu'ici, la manifestation des éléments s'effectue simultanément dans deux directions, horizontale et verticale. La différenciation des éléments s'accomplit à partir de l'éther où les tendances d'expansion horizontale et verticale s'équilibrent parfaitement. Lors de leur manifestation, cet équilibre est rompu en faveur de la tendance la plus proche de l'équilibre initial. Ce ne peut être que l'expansion horizontale qui se déploie également de part et d'autre du centre. Cette tendance est naturellement associée à l'air. Après la manifestation de l'air, vient la manifestation des éléments où la tendance verticale prédomine. D'abord le feu où l'expansion ascensionnelle prévaut, suivie de l'eau et la terre marqués par la tendance inverse. Tout cela montre que nous sommes en présence d'un ordre de production.

De façon générale, les éléments se manifestent en fonction de la proportion des deux formes d'expansion, horizontale ou de fluidité et verticale ou de densité. En tant que principe, l'éther domine tous les autres éléments. C'est pourquoi il est situé “au-dessus” des autres en raison de sa faculté d'expansion ascensionnelle manifeste.

Couleurs cardinales dans l'HindouhismeCouleurs points cardinaux et éléments dans l'Hindouhisme

Dans la tradition hindoue, l'expansion est en relation avec le développement intégral de l'être et résulte de l'interaction de deux principes: Purusha, le principe masculin, actif, essentiel et immuable qui actualise les possibilités de Prakriti, le principe féminin, passif, substantiel et indifférencié.

Prakriti renferme, à l'état unifié, trois qualités constitutives des êtres et des choses, les trois gunas. Lors de l'interaction entre l'essence Purusha et la substance Prakriti, l'équilibre initial entre les trois gunas est rompu; elles se manifestent dans les êtres et les choses sous la forme d'un mélange de:

  • Les trois gunasSattwa qui traduit l'accord de l'être avec l'essence et correspond à l'ascension verticale associée à la couleur blanche;
  • Rajas qui représente le développement de l'être dans un état donné, en relation avec l'expansion horizontale de couleur rouge;
  • Tamas qui dépeint l'identification de l'être à l'obscurité et l'ignorance caractérisée par la descente verticale de couleur noire.

Précisons que les trois gunas ne sont pas des états d'être, mais des conditions de la manifestation intégrale des êtres en dehors de tout état d'existence.

Après avoir abordé l'ordre hiérarchique avec la doctrine grecque et l'ordre de production avec la doctrine hindoue, nous allons examiner la doctrine chinoise relevant de différents ordres.

La doctrine chinoise

Le yin et le yang

La Chine ancienne a le plus souvent adopté une orientation tournée vers le sud, yang, et marginalement vers le nord, yin (voir la tradition chinoise pour davantage de détails). Le yang et le yin constituent les deux grands principes de cette tradition:

  • Le yang caractérise la prédominance de tout ce qui est actif, positif, masculin, lumineux, clair …; il est représenté par la couleur blanche;
  • Le yin caractérise la prévalence de tout ce qui est passif, négatif, féminin, obscur, sombre …; il est figuré par la couleur noire.

Le symbole yin-yang verticalSoulignons que la compréhension de la pensée chinoise passe par l'absence de jugement sur ces catégories car toutes les choses sont faites de yang et de yin dans des proportions variées. Le yang et le yin ne peuvent jamais être séparés tout comme le sud (l'est) yang ne peut être isolé du nord (de l'ouest) yin. Ils constituent un couple de complémentaires comme dans le fameux symbole yin-yang. Dans cette dénomination, le yin vient avant le yang conformément à une vision cosmologique tournée vers le yang, vers le sud.

Les couples de couleurs complémentaires tels que (blanc,noir), (rouge,vert) ou (jaune,violet) peuvent être apparentés au couple (yang,yin). Cela ne signifie pas que le blanc, le rouge ou le jaune, pris isolément, soient yang pour autant. Ces couleurs ne sont yang que relativement à leur couleur complémentaire yin.

Les couleurs des points cardinaux et des éléments

Dans le premier diagramme ci-dessous, le blanc est associé au zénith et le noir au nadir. De plus, les axes sud-nord et est-ouest sont respectivement reliés aux couples de couleurs (rouge,vert) et (bleu,jaune).

Couleurs et Chine

Le diagramme précédent peut être mis en relation avec les “éléments” de la tradition chinoise. Au nombre de cinq, ils sont dénommés eau, bois, feu, terre et métal dans leur ordre de production (cyclique). Comme dans d'autres traditions, ces éléments symbolisent des principes élémentaires à l'origine de la manifestation du monde physique; ils ont été, de manière plus appropriée, dénommés agents (opérationnels) par Marcel Granet.

La nature particulière de ces éléments a conduit à compléter l'ordre de production (ou de génération) cyclique d'un second ordre de destruction également cyclique: bois, terre, eau, feu et métal.

Pour passer du diagramme précédent au diagramme des éléments, il convient de procéder à plusieurs opérations:

  • Une projection du blanc sur le plan horizontal pour occuper la place du jaune; le jaune migre vers le centre en s'éloignant du yin pour se rapprocher du yang avant de réaliser le parfait équilibre entre les deux aspects;
  • La projection du noir sur le même plan horizontal pour occuper la place du vert; le vert se déplace à son tour vers le bleu pour donner, par mélange, une couleur bleu-vert ou turquoise.

Couleurs points cardinaux dans la ChineCouleurs points cardinaux et éléments dans la Chine

Parvenu à ce point, une question se pose. Comment l'élément terre peut-il participer à différents ordres cycliques au même titre que les autres éléments et occuper simultanément le centre ? Si nous nous en tenons à ce qui précède, la terre ne peut contenir les autres éléments à l'état indifférencié. En fait, cette disposition résulte de l'interaction du yang et du yin en relation avec les points cardinaux. La terre caractérise l'état d'équilibre entre le yang et le yin, entre le feu et le bois yang et le métal et l'eau yin. Cette disposition pourrait refléter l'ordre “hiérarchique” suivant: feu, bois, terre, métal et eau.

Une seconde question suit. Pourquoi la terre plutôt qu'un autre élément ? Au sein de la polarité fondamentale entre le Ciel et la Terre, la Terre est associée à la manifestation physique et il est naturel de considérer que l'élément terre puisse jouer un rôle privilégié parmi les autres éléments au cours de ce processus.

Enfin, pourquoi l'élément terre est-il associé au jaune ? Tout comme la terre occupe le centre du diagramme des points cardinaux, le jaune correspond à une couleur médiane de l'arc-en-ciel. En Chine, l'arc-en-ciel comprend quatre couleurs: rouge, jaune, vert, bleu.

Les couleurs du Ming-tangLe centre symbolise l'Invariable Milieu, le lieu où s'opère l'union des influences célestes et terrestres. Il caractérise l'endroit où se tient le médiateur entre le Ciel et la Terre, l'Empereur, dans le Ming-Tang (“le temple de la Lumière”) avant rendre les ordonnances destinées à réguler l'Empire. Comme le temple est orienté selon les points cardinaux et renferme neuf salles, il est naturel d'associer le jaune à la salle centrale, les couleurs des points cardinaux aux salles orientées vers ces points et les couleurs intermédiaires aux autres salles à l'image du schéma ci-dessus.

Les relations entre les couleurs, les points cardinaux et les éléments sont résumées dans le tableau suivant:

Orientation Nature Élément Couleur
sud yang feu
est yang bois
centre yang-yin terre
ouest yin métal
nord yin eau

La doctrine maya

Le maïs constituait l'aliment de base des Mayas et l'élément de base de leur culte. Le mot maya dérive lui-même du mot maïs. Selon le “Popol Vuh”, le Livre du Conseil qui retrace le mythe de la création du Monde Maya-Quiche, les quatre premiers hommes et quatre premières femmes furent engendrés par les dieux à partir de la pâte de maïs.

Les couleurs des quatre directions cardinales ne sont pas choisies au hasard. Ce sont en effet les couleurs que peuvent prendre les grains de maïs: jaune, rouge, blanc et noir (violacé).

Le passage du diagramme de base au diagramme des éléments s'effectue selon les opérations suivantes:

  • La projection du blanc sur le plan horizontal vient occuper la place du bleu qui migre vers le centre;
  • La projection du noir sur le même plan horizontal prend la place du vert qui lui aussi migre vers le centre;
  • Le centre est occupé par le mélange du bleu et du vert, c'est-à-dire la couleur bleu-vert ou turquoise.

Couleurs cardinales chez les MayasCouleurs points cardinaux chez les Mayas

Les couleurs des points cardinaux symbolisaient le cycle de vie: à l'est, le rouge était associé à la naissance; au sud, le jaune représentait la vie elle-même; à l'ouest, le noir caractérisait les ténèbres et la mort; au nord, le blanc exprimait la régénération. Notons que ce cycle suit, comme il se doit, la course du soleil

Dans la tradition maya et, plus généralement, amérindienne, la turquoise était la pierre de dieux qui étaient souvent dotés d'un attribut turquoise.

Conclusion

Dans toutes les traditions étudiées précédemment, les quatre directions cardinales partent du centre qui symbolise le point d'équilibre entre clarté (sud, est) et obscurité (nord, ouest) ou entre le yang et le yin. Les couleurs des points cardinaux et des éléments associés diffèrent en fonction des arrière-plans culturels des traditions concernées.

Les éléments associés aux points cardinaux peuvent:

  • soit être rassemblés dans un cinquième élément situé au centre les contenant tous dans un état indifférencié;
  • soit trouver leur point d'équilibre entre le yang et le yin dans un cinquième élément situé au centre.

Il s'ensuit que le centre constitue:

  • soit le point de départ de la manifestation des éléments associés aux points cardinaux et le point de retour de ces mêmes éléments dans leur état indifférencié;
  • soit le point de passage ou de transition entre les éléments yang et yin au sein de leur ordre “hiérarchique”.

Le développement précédent montre la spécificité de la tradition chinoise fondée, comme en toutes choses, sur la dynamique du yang et du yin.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “Études sur l'hindouisme”. Éditions traditionnelles, 1989;
  • En particulier, “La théorie hindoue des cinq éléments”.
  • “La Grande Triade”. Éditions Gallimard, 1957.
  • Notamment, les chapitres IV sur le “Yin et Yang” et VIII sur “Les nombres célestes et les nombres terrestres”.
  • Marcel Granet:
  • “La pensée chinoise”. Éditions Albin Michel, 1988.
  • En particulier, le chapitre sur “Les nombres”
  • Albert-Vanel:
  • “Spiritualité de la couleur”. Éditions Color Messenger, 2012;
  • Une synthèse sur le rôle de la couleur dans les sociétés anciennes.
Haut