LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

Colours of compass points and elements

(Summary)

Concentric squares and circles by Wassily Kandinsky, 1913

Colourful diagrams

Compass points and colours

Since the dawn of time, man has always sought to get his bearings in space. For that purpose, he observed the various positions of the sun during the day or stars during the night:

  • At day light, the shade of a post stuck into the ground allowed to determine the position of the sun at its zenith, i.e. the direction of south. The other compass directions followed;
  • At night, the observation of the fixed point, around which stars seemed to turn, gave the direction of the (geographical) North pole and, then, the other directions.

The diagram of the four compass directions could then be used to represent the four periods of the day, the four seasons, the four ages of the human being etc. The idea to associate compass directions and colours followed. It was enough to think, among others, to the green spring, the yellow summer, the russet autumn and the white… winter.

The choice of colours had however to reflect the relationship between clearness and darkness (south and north, east and west) underlined by complementary colours (red and green, yellow and purple for example). The correspondence between compass points and colours could, for instance, associate east with green, south with yellow, west with red, north with purple or dark blue. As for white related to winter, it called its complementary, black. Together, they also represented the relation between brightness and darkness for the two vertical directions associated with zenith and nadir.

The association of the six colours, mostly widespread in the traditional societies, with the six directions of space gave the first diagram below. It constituted only one of the eight diagrams generated by joining the four possible couples of complementary colours (red, green), (green, red), (yellow, blue) and (blue, yellow) with the two couples of compass points (south, north) and (east, west). However, only four of these diagrams will be kept, the four others resulting from the former by exchanging the colours along each axis:

Christian and Hinduism coloursGreek and Indian coloursChinese coloursMayan colours

White and black have a great symbolic importance. White represents not only the unified state of the colours of the visible light spectrum, but more generally of all beings and things. It symbolizes the terrestrial perception of the non manifested primeval Principle at the origin of manifestation. As for black, it is even the image of the non manifested, beyond our perception of the Principle symbolized by white.

In a more prosaic way, white and black characterize light and darkness, clarity and obscurity, knowledge and ignorance. As often in the hermetic tradition, what is the highest at the celestial level is the lowest at the terrestrial plan.

Compass points and elements

Some of the previous diagrams were enriched by the introduction of elements in various traditional forms. They were symbolized in ancient Greece by fire, air, water and earth according to the hierarchical order provided by Plato and his disciple, Aristotle. The criterion of material production of elements alone would have led to reverse the order of fire and lighter air. However, that would have put aside the symbolic aspect of both elements. Fire was associated with verticality, with the rise towards Heaven, the states of higher beings. Air, mainly characterized by the transversal movement of wind, represented only the horizontal expansion related to a given existence state. As for the elements water and earth, they were also in relation to verticality, but downwards.

It followed that the elements could not be swapped according to people's wish; they proceeded from each other as well in their hierarchical as in their production order.

It was always possible to associate fire with red and water with blue, green or turquoise for example. But what about the other elements and colours ? The task was all the more difficult since the introduction of the elements implied moving from a descriptive or material approach to a more symbolic one.

Indeed, the elements of various traditional forms had nothing in common with the chemical elements, at the root of the composition of bodies in general. They represented elementary principles determining the manifestation of bodies of the physical or substantial world only, the lower world. Moreover, any (physical) body proceeded from the totality of the elements in various proportions, contrary to chemical compounds.

Could a correspondence between the four elements and the four phases of matter, namely solid (earth), liquid (water), gas (air) and plasma (fire), have brought us closer to a traditional vision ? Surely not! These four phases could not coexist in the same body, contrary to the traditional elements.

It follows that the colours attributed to the compass points and elements could not be fixed once and for all. The choice and arrangement of colours largely depended on the cultural backgrounds they were reflecting and hierarchical or production orders brought out during the manifestation process of the physical world.

Only some cases will be examined for the six previously selected colours. Many others would be possible according to the basic colours or nuances proper to each culture, but this simple outline will already enable us to measure the symbolic repercussions of the colour in ancient societies.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Couleurs des points cardinaux et éléments (Résumé)

Carrés et cercles concentriques de Wassily Kandinsky, 1913

Des diagrammes hauts en couleur

Points cardinaux et couleurs

Depuis la nuit des temps, l'homme a toujours cherché à se repérer dans l'espace. Pour y parvenir, il a observé les différentes positions du soleil au cours de la journée ou des étoiles durant la nuit:

  • Le jour, l'ombre d'un piquet planté dans le sol permettait de déterminer la position du soleil à son zénith, c'est-à-dire la direction du sud. Les autres directions cardinales s'ensuivaient;
  • La nuit, l'observation du point fixe, autour duquel semblaient tourner les étoiles, fournissait la direction du pôle nord (géographique) et, ensuite, les autres directions.

Le diagramme des quatre directions cardinales a pu ensuite servir à représenter les quatre périodes de la journée, les quatre saisons, les quatre âges de l'être humain etc. D'où l'idée d'associer directions cardinales et couleurs. Il suffisait de penser, entre autres, au printemps vert, à l'été jaune, à l'automne roux et à l'hiver… blanc.

Le choix des couleurs devait cependant refléter la relation entre clarté et obscurité (sud et nord, est et ouest) soulignée par des couleurs complémentaires (par exemple rouge et vert, jaune et violet). La correspondance entre points cardinaux et couleurs pouvait, par exemple, associer est et vert, sud et jaune, ouest et rouge, nord et violet ou bleu foncé. Quant au blanc évoqué à propos de l'hiver, il appelait son complémentaire, le noir. Ensemble, ils représentaient aussi la relation entre clarté et obscurité pour les deux directions verticales associées au zénith et au nadir.

L'association des six couleurs les plus largement répandues dans les sociétés traditionnelles et des six directions de l'espace donnait le premier diagramme ci-dessous. Il ne constituait que l'un des huit diagrammes générés en accolant les quatre couples possibles de couleurs complémentaires (rouge, vert), (vert, rouge), (jaune, bleu) et (bleu, jaune) aux deux couples de points cardinaux (sud, nord) et (est, ouest). Toutefois, seuls quatre de ces diagrammes seront retenus, les quatre autres se déduisant des quatre précédents en échangeant les couleurs le long de chacun des axes:

Couleurs chrétienté et HindouismeCouleurs en Grèce et IndeCouleurs et ChineCouleurs chez les Mayas

Le blanc et le noir ont une grande portée symbolique. Le blanc représente non seulement l'état unifié des couleurs du spectre de la lumière visible, mais plus généralement de tous les êtres et choses. Il symbolise la perception terrestre du Principe primordial non manifesté à l'origine de la manifestation. Quant au noir, il est l'image même du non manifesté, au-delà de notre perception du Principe symbolisé par le blanc.

De façon plus prosaïque, le blanc et le noir caractérisent la lumière et les ténèbres, la clarté et l'obscurité, la connaissance et l'ignorance. Comme souvent dans la tradition hermétiste, ce qui est au plus haut au niveau céleste est au plus bas au plan terrestre.

Points cardinaux et éléments

Certains des diagrammes précédents furent enrichis par l'introduction des éléments dans diverses formes traditionnelles. Ils étaient symbolisés dans la Grèce antique par le feu, l'air, l'eau et la terre selon l'ordre hiérarchique fourni par Platon et son disciple Aristote. Le seul critère de la production matérielle des éléments aurait conduit à inverser l'ordre du feu et de l'air plus léger. Su était cependant écarter l'aspect symbolique des deux éléments. Le feu était associé à la verticalité, à l'ascension vers le Ciel, vers des états d'être supérieurs. L'air, caractérisé principalement par le mouvement transversal du vent, ne représentait que l'expansion horizontale reliée à un état d'existence donné. Quant aux éléments eau et terre, ils étaient également en relation avec la verticalité, mais descendante.

Il s'ensuivait que les éléments ne pouvaient être échangés à loisir; ils procédaient l'un de l'autre aussi bien dans leur ordre hiérarchique que de production.

Il était toujours possible d'associer le feu à la couleur rouge et l'eau à la couleur bleue, verte ou turquoise par exemple. Mais qu'en était-il des autres éléments et couleurs ? La tâche fut d'autant plus ardue que l'introduction des éléments impliquait de passer d'une approche descriptive ou matérielle à une approche plus symbolique.

Les éléments des diverses formes traditionnelles n'avaient, en effet, rien de commun avec les éléments chimiques à la base de la composition des corps en général. Ils représentaient des principes élémentaires déterminant la manifestation des corps du seul monde physique ou substantiel, du monde inférieur. De plus, tout corps (physique) procédait de l'ensemble des éléments dans différentes proportions, contrairement aux composés chimiques.

Est-ce qu'une correspondance entre les quatre éléments et les quatre phases de la matière, à savoir solide (terre), liquide (eau), gazeuse (air) et plasma (feu), aurait pu nous rapprocher d'une vision traditionnelle ? Sûrement pas! Les quatre phases ne sauraient coexister dans un même corps, contrairement aux éléments traditionnels.

Il résulte de tout cela que les couleurs attribuées aux points cardinaux et aux éléments ne sauraient être fixées une fois pour toutes. Le choix et la disposition des couleurs dépendait largement des arrière-plans culturels qu'ils reflétaient et des ordres hiérarchique ou de production mis en avant au cours du processus de la manifestation du monde physique.

Seuls quelques cas seront examinés pour les six couleurs retenues précédemment. Bien d'autres seraient possibles en fonction des couleurs ou des nuances de base propres à chaque culture, mais ce simple aperçu nous permettra déjà de mesurer les répercussions symboliques de la couleur dans les sociétés anciennes.

Page détaillée

Haut