The rainbow colours

Abstract

The seven rainbow colours

In fact, the rainbow does not contain seven colours, but only six: three fundamental or primary (red, blue, yellow) and three composed or complementary (green, orange, violet) and no more. The three last colours are said to be composed of or complementary to the three first as they result from their two by two associations: green (blue + yellow), orange (red + yellow) and violet (red + blue).

No valid reason allows the addition of an intermediary colour between violet and blue (indigo) because why not add another transition colour between blue and green (cyan) and so on to obtain, finally, eleven colours instead of seven. All colours and their nuances are the result of the combination, in different proportions, of the six primary and composed colours, including indigo. To fix arbitrarily the number of rainbow colours to seven has no sense at all. Then, where does the introduction of this seventh colour come from 1 and what is its meaning ?

Seven colour diagramIf we put the three primary colours on the vertexes of a triangle pointing upwards and the three composed colours on the vertexes of a reverse triangle, so that each fundamental colour stands opposite its complement, we get a Solomon seal. This seal defines seven zones composed of six coloured triangles and a central non coloured hexagon. As the rainbow spectrum can be viewed by refraction of sunlight through a prism, the central zone may only represent the source of the manifestation (of colours), namely the “white” light.

Another way of representing primary and composed colours consists in drawing six radiuses joining the centre of the hexagon to the six vertexes of the seal and to attribute to them the colours of the six triangles. The “white” light stands then at the intersection of the six radiuses and symbolizes the Centre.

The Centre represents the Principle, the “white” light, source of primary and complement colours. In fact, it portrays the seventh ray of the sun, the meaning of which has been lost along the ages and come back under the toned down form of the seventh colour of the rainbow (indigo).

The colour perception corresponds to a way out of the non coloured Principle into the manifested; the resorption of the colours into their Principle sounds like a way back to the Centre. This double movement between the non coloured Principle and its coloured manifestation gives all its meaning to the number seven.

The septenarius symbolism

Seven colours and spatial orientationAnother way of representing the sun radiating the real rainbow colours consists in drawing it within the three dimensional space. Then, the six directions and colours are opposed two by two and extend from their common point or Centre, symbol of their unity.

In this drawing, the vertical axis links Heaven and Earth and refers to the spiritual order whereas the horizontal plane, related to the four compass points, corresponds to the temporal order.

The real meaning of the septenarius lies in the Centre or the unity of the Principle and its senarius manifestation (of the real rainbow colours).

Many examples of the septenarius may be found in various customs and traditions.

1. The above drawing may be connected with the seven virtues of the Christian tradition.

The vertical axis is related to the three theological virtues: “Faith” or Trust (white), “Charity” or Divine love (red), “Hope” (green).

The horizontal plane represents the four cardinal virtues: “Prudence” or Wisdom (yellow), “Temperance” (violet), “Justice” or Harmony (orange) and “Fortitude” or spiritual Force (blue).

The reasons behind these connections will appear more clearly within the colour symbolism section.

2. In the Veda, it is said that the sun comes every morning riding on its golden chariot pulled by seven horses (“ashva”). In Sanskrit, “ashva” means the horse and the ray as well. So, the golden chariot refers to the seven rays of the sun, where the seventh represents the central one, the “white” light, and the six others the rainbow colours.

Seven-branched candelabrumA similar meaning can be found in the seven-branched candelabrum (“Menorah”) of the Jewish tradition. The central branch represents, among other things, the “white” light from which six other branches, symbolizing the six rainbow colours, are radiating.

3. In the Genesis, the creation occurred in six days and ended up with a seventh, a so-called resting day (Sabbath). The last is not really a resting day outside the creation, but rather its final crowning consisting in a return to the Principle (Centre).

Similarly, the week, the days of which get their names from the denomination of the astral objects, ends up or starts a Sunday, the day of the sun, the star around which the planets are revolving.

4. In many traditional forms, the number of degrees of the initiation path comes to seven, the highest corresponding to the unity of the septenarius.

For instance, the Chinese tradition, in its overall exoteric (Confucianism) and esoteric (Taoism) aspects, contains an ascent ladder of seven grades. Six of them have a human character whereas the seventh, as the achievement of the realization, is properly supra-human or spiritual and represents the Centre.

The first two grades (Well-read man, Learned man) concern Confucianism only, the third one (Wise man) refers to both Confucianism and Taoism and the four last ones (Talented man, Path man, True man, Transcendent man) to Taoism exclusively.

5. Similarly, in Hindu tradition, there are seven “chakras” (wheels), situated alongside the spine, in an ascending order. They represent the consciousness levels from the ordinary consciousness linked to fear, greed and sexual instincts to the universal Consciousness, corresponding to the Principle. While each of the six first “chakras” is connected to an organ of the body, a symbolic colour or number etc., the seventh may be associated with the “white” light.

6. This gradual ascent of the initiation degrees from Earth to Heaven are depicted, within the Islamic tradition, by the seven rung ladder in relation to the seven celestial spheres.

7. The Japanese pagoda traditionally has seven stories to mark the different stages of the ascent from Earth to Heaven.

The Babylonian ziggurat, a seven-storied spiralLikewise, according to the Mesopotamian tradition, a spiral slope was winding round the seven-storeyed ziggurat. The last storey, which is empty, symbolizes the return into the non-manifested, the Principle.

8.Philosopher's stone symbol The image of the philosophical stone of the Pythagorean tradition is also an echo to the septenarius (7). Each of its faces is developed according to a triangle and a square. The triangle is composed of a vertex in relation to the Principle (1) and a basis reflecting its polarity (2). The four corners (4) of the square refer naturally to the four compass points and portray the manifestation basis.

Other examples could be given, but they would add nothing more to the septenarius or colour meanings.

The colour symbolism

The human eye may distinguish seven hundred colour nuances and there is no question to mention here all their aspects. Since the same colour may assume different meanings according to its tonality (clearer or darker) or the world it is applied to (manifested or non-manifested, spiritual or temporal etc.). So, only qualities of main colours, in relation to different worlds, will be touched in the remaining text. We will start with white, source of the rainbow colours.

White and Black

White symbolizes the Principle of the manifestation of colours and everything in general. It corresponds to the being who has reintegrated the Centre, who has overcome the human state and accessed a supra human or spiritual state. White is the colour of druids of the Celtic tradition and Brahmins of Hindu tradition. It symbolizes the spiritual or sacerdotal authority, which has authority over the temporal or royal power.

White depicts the presence, the manifestation (of colours); black the absence, the non-manifestation (of colours).The alternating white and black tiles portray the constant game between the visible and the invisible, the world of appearances and the world of depths

White personifies the initiation path as well, going through all spiritual realization degrees and based on trust and surrendering. Reaching the last degree or the Centre means returning to the Principle. Opposed to white, source of the manifestation, of the presence (of colours), black depicts the non-manifested, the absence (of colours). Seen from the outer (exoteric vision), from the manifestation point of view, the Principle or Centre is white. Apprehended from the inner (esoteric vision), it is non-manifested and black. Black constitutes, in a way, the real Centre, source of all rays, including the seventh. Thus, some ladders of initiation degrees of the Islamic tradition may contain seven, even eight, rungs, the last one being black to emphasize the ultimate step of the spiritual accomplishment.

Moreover, in Hindu tradition, black is also the colour of the lower class (distinct from the lower caste). Indeed, there are two ways not to belong to a class (“varna”, which means colour as well):

- To be deprived of class (“avarna”) as the shudras;
- To be beyond the classes (“ativarna”), that means having rejoined the Centre.

It ensues that black symbolizes the beginning of the manifestation cycle or the Principle and the end of the cycle in relation to its full development. Consequently, black represents both the brightest and the darkest light according to the point of view: non-manifested or manifested.

The juxtaposition of white and black symbolizes naturally pairs such as light and darkness, day and night, yang and yin etc. The white of yang and black of yin put the pre-eminence of yang over yin in an obvious place from the manifestation point of view. A pre-eminence accompanied with a deep complement between both principles, which is reflected by the entanglement of white and black zones within the yin yang symbol.

More commonly, the overlapping layout of white and black tiles of cathedral floors has a similar meaning. So does the chessboard, composed of alternating black and white squares. It conveys the constant game between the non-manifested and the manifestation through its indefinite multiplicity of (coloured) moves.

Red

Temporal world

As the colour of putting the enemy place to fire and the sword, red represents courage and, more symbolically, the power and the force in this world. As the “uppermost” colour of the rainbow, it corresponds to the highest rank of the temporal order. A role traditionally devoted to warriors and their chief, the king. It is the colour of the Kshatriyas, second function after the Brahmins within Hindu tradition. The cross of the soldier monks, knights of the Temple order, provides a more familiar example. The cardinals of the Catholic Church have inherited this sovereignty symbol.

Spiritual world

If white symbolizes the sacerdotal authority of the principle knowledge, red represents the temporal power in charge of their application. In that sense, red symbolizes love of the divine Principle.

Blue

Temporal world

As the “lowest” fundamental colour within the rainbow, (dark) blue represents the colour of the productive function.

Spiritual world

Blue is the most insubstantial colour, which occurs in nature mostly in its translucency form and essentially in the sky or waters. Therefore, it symbolizes more the essence than the substance, mainly the spiritual force, the Spirit, the inner Peace.
Light blue is the colour of meditation and, as it darkens, it becomes the colour of dreams. The Consciousness yields little by little to the unconscious just as the light of day gradually turns into the colour of night, the midnight blue.

Yellow

Temporal world

From the temporal point of view, yellow represents, in Hindu tradition, the “middle” colour linked to the vaishyas caste.

Spiritual world

As the warmest colour of the light spectrum, yellow is related to sun and gold, two symbols of the spiritual influence, of Wisdom. The transmutation of lead into gold symbolized the inner alchemy transforming the human being into a spiritual or a supra-human being. That is why yellow is linked to the re-birth of the being and the resurrection of Christ.
Situated halfway within the rainbow spectrum, yellow represents the “Middle Path”. It symbolizes the communication channel between Heaven and Earth, blue and red. In ancient China, it was the imperial colour. The emperor ruled over the “Middle Empire” as sun reigned in the skies. In connection with its highly spiritual characteristics, yellow was often associated with black from which it emerges. In various traditions, it symbolizes the transmission of the divine power to emperors and kings.

Green

Temporal world

As the most common colour spread over the earth, green represents both the life rising from the plant and its decomposition. As such, it is associated with the cycle of death and rebirth.
Moreover, mid-way between the so-called warm colours (red, orange, yellow) and cool colours (blue, violet), green is the colour of neutrality, quietness, calming, all what we are hoping for.

Spiritual world

Combination of blue and yellow, green is the colour of awakening, re-generation and access to spiritual knowledge.
Myths often refer to the complement of red and green. In the Egyptian tradition, Osiris corpse (green) was brought to life again by Isis (red). In the Christian version of the quest of the Holy Grail, the emerald vase contains the blood of God who became human.

Orange

Temporal world

If yellow is related to the sun in its apparent fullness, orange is identified to sunrise and sunset, i.e. sun elevation and descent. In other terms, orange characterizes at the same time the flight towards light and the descent towards darkness, synonym of ignorance.

Spiritual world

Mix of yellow and red, orange combines the spiritual gold and the temporal red and symbolizes the equilibrium between celestial and terrestrial worlds, which means justice in a deep sense, i.e. harmony.
This balanced way was sought in ritual orgies regarded as bringing with them the initiatory revelation. This is why Dionysus is represented dressed in orange. To day, the saffron garment of Buddhist monks symbolizes also this search of harmony.

Violet

Temporal world

Violet is the colour of temperance as if softens the blaze of red. This is the meaning attached to the bishop's sacerdotal vestments. He has to watch over his flock and moderate the heat of his passions.

Spiritual world

Composed of equal proportions of blue and red, violet represents also a balance colour between Heaven and Earth. Lying opposite to yellow, a colour of the passage between death to a state of being and re-birth into another, violet depicts, on the contrary, the passage from life to death to a being state before springing up again or resuscitating into another state. That is why choirs and statues of churches are draped in violet on Good Friday. Prior to the Renaissance, many gospel-books, psalters and breviaries were written in golden letters on a violet background so that the reader could constantly remember the mystery of the Lord's Passion. Later, in Western societies, the colour became that of mourning or half-mourning. As such, violet is related to a rite of passage from a state to another one.

Bibliography

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symbols of Sacred Science”, Sophia Perennis Publisher 2004;
  • More specifically, chapters 47 on white and black and 57 devoted to the seven rays of the rainbow.

1 back The white light breakdown into seven colours returns to Newton. For a long time, one has wondered what was the reason for the introduction of indigo ? It would seem that Newton wanted to establish a correspondence between the seven planets known at that time and the colours of the visible light spectrum. As the “universal” attraction followed from the different planet masses, the colour spectrum would result from distinct corpuscle masses.

Les couleurs de l'arc-en-ciel

Résumé

Les sept rayons de l'arc-en-ciel

En fait, l'arc-en-ciel ne possède pas sept couleurs, mais seulement six. Trois couleurs fondamentales ou primaires (rouge, bleu jaune) et trois couleurs composées ou complémentaires (vert, orange, violet), pas une de plus. Les trois dernières couleurs sont dites composées ou complémentaires des trois premières parce qu'elles résultent de leur association deux à deux: vert (bleu + jaune), orange (rouge + jaune) et violet (rouge + bleu).

Aucune raison valable ne permet d'ajouter une couleur intermédiaire entre le violet et le bleu (indigo) car alors pourquoi ne pas adjoindre une autre couleur de transition entre le bleu et le vert (cyan) et ainsi de suite pour obtenir, finalement, onze couleurs au lieu de sept. Toutes les couleurs et leurs nuances résultent du mélange, dans différentes proportions, des six couleurs primaires et complémentaires, y compris l'indigo. Fixer arbitrairement le nombre des couleurs de l'arc-en-ciel à sept n'a donc pas de sens. Mais alors d'où provient l'introduction de cette septième couleur 1 et quelle est sa signification ?

Diagramme des sept couleursSi nous plaçons les trois couleurs primaires aux sommets d'un triangle pointant vers le haut et les trois couleurs composées aux sommets d'un triangle inversé de sorte que chaque couleur fondamentale soit opposée à sa complémentaire, nous obtenons le sceau de Salomon. Ce sceau définit sept zones composées de six triangles colorés et d'un hexagone central incolore. Le spectre de l'arc-en-ciel pouvant être visualisé par la réfraction de la lumière solaire à travers un prisme, la zone centrale ne peut représenter que la source de la manifestation (des couleurs), à savoir la lumière “blanche”.

Une autre forme de représentation des couleurs primaires et composées consiste à tracer six rayons joignant le centre de l'hexagone aux six sommets du sceau et à leur attribuer les couleurs des six triangles. La lumière “blanche” occupe alors la zone située à l'intersection des six rayons et symbolise le Centre.

Le Centre figure le Principe, la lumière “blanche” à la source des couleurs primaires et complémentaires. En réalité, il représente le septième rayon du soleil dont le sens a été perdu au cours des âges et qui nous est parvenu, de manière édulcorée, sous la forme de la septième couleur de l'arc-en-ciel (indigo).

La perception des couleurs correspond à une sortie dans le manifesté du Principe incolore. La résorption des couleurs dans leur Principe à un retour vers le Centre. Ce double mouvement entre le Principe incolore et sa manifestation colorée donne tout son sens au nombre sept.

Le symbolisme du septénaire

Sept couleurs et orientation spatialeUne autre manière de représenter le soleil, irradiant des véritables couleurs de l'arc-en-ciel, consiste à le visualiser dans l'espace à trois dimensions. Les six directions et couleurs, opposées deux à deux, rayonnent alors depuis leur point commun, symbole de leur unité.

Dans ce dessin, l'axe vertical relie le Ciel et la Terre et fait référence à l'ordre spirituel tandis que le plan horizontal, associé aux quatre directions des points cardinaux, correspond à l'ordre temporel.

Le vrai sens du septénaire réside dans le Centre ou l'unité du Principe et sa manifestation sénaire (des véritables couleurs de l'arc-en ciel).

De nombreux exemples du septénaire peuvent être trouvés dans divers usages et traditions:

1. Le dessin ci-dessus peut être mis en relation avec les sept vertus de la tradition chrétienne.

L'axe vertical est associé aux trois vertus théologales: “Foi” ou Confiance (blanc), “Charité” ou Amour divin (rouge), “Espérance” (vert).

Le plan horizontal, en connexion avec les quatre points cardinaux, représente les quatre vertus cardinales: “Prudence” ou Sagesse (jaune), “Tempérance” (violet), “Justice” ou Harmonie (orange) et “Fortitude” ou Force spirituelle (bleu).

Les raisons de ces rapprochements apparaîtront plus clairement dans le symbolisme des couleurs.

2. Dans les Védas, il est dit que le soleil arrive chaque matin conduisant son char doré tiré par sept chevaux (“ashva”). En sanskrit, “ashva” signifie à la fois le cheval et le rayon. Ainsi, le char doré fait référence aux sept rayons du soleil où le septième représente le rayon central, la lumière “blanche”, et les six autres les couleurs de l'arc-en-ciel.

Chandelier à sept branchesUn sens similaire peut être trouvé dans le chandelier à sept branches (“Menorah”) de la tradition juive. La branche centrale représente, entre autres, la lumière “blanche” d'où rayonnent six autres branches symbolisant les six couleurs de l'arc-en-ciel.

3. Selon la “Genèse”, la création se déroula en six jours et se termina par un septième jour, dit de repos (“Sabbat”). Ce dernier n'est pas à proprement parler un jour repos hors de la création, mais plutôt son couronnement final consistant en un retour dans le Principe (Centre).

De même, la semaine, dont le nom des jours tire son origine de la dénomination des astres, se termine ou débute le dimanche, jour du soleil, l'étoile autour de laquelle gravitent les planètes.

4. Dans bien des formes traditionnelles, le nombre de degrés de la voie initiatique se monte à sept, le plus élevé correspondant à l'unité du septénaire.

Ainsi, la tradition chinoise, sous l'ensemble de ses aspects exotérique (Confucianisme) et ésotérique (Taoïsme), comporte une échelle ascendante de sept degrés. Six d'entre eux ont un caractère humain tandis que le septième, aboutissement de la réalisation de l'être, est proprement supra-humain ou spirituel et représente le Centre:

Les deux premiers degrés (Homme lettré, Homme savant) relèvent du seul Confucianisme, le troisième (Homme sage) concerne à la fois le Confucianisme et le Taoïsme et les quatre derniers (Homme doué, Homme de la Voie, Homme véritable, Homme transcendant) se rapportent exclusivement au Taoïsme.

5. De façon similaire, la tradition hindoue recourt au symbolisme des sept “chakras” (roues) situés, dans un ordre ascendant, le long de la colonne vertébrale. Ils représentent les niveaux de conscience depuis la conscience ordinaire liée aux instincts de peur, d'avidité et sexuels jusqu'à la Conscience universelle qui correspond au Principe. Alors que chacun des six premiers “chakras” est associé à un organe du corps, une couleur ou un nombre symbolique etc., le septième, le plus élevé, peut être associé à la lumière “blanche”.

6. Cette ascension graduelle des degrés initiatiques de la Terre au Ciel est figurée, dans la tradition islamique, par l'échelle à sept échelons en relation avec les sept sphères célestes.

7. La pagode japonaise est traditionnellement composée de sept étages pour indiquer les différents degrés de l'ascension de la Terre au Ciel.

La ziggourat babylonienne, une spirale à 7 étagesDe même, selon la tradition mésopotamienne, une rampe en forme de spirale s'enroulait autour des sept étages de la ziggourat. Le dernier étage, qui est vide, symbolise le retour dans le non manifesté, le Principe.

Symbole de la pierre philosophale8. L'image de la pierre philosophale de la tradition pythagoricienne fait également écho au septénaire (7). Chacune de ses faces est formée d'un triangle et d'un carré. Le triangle se compose d'un sommet associé au Principe (1) et d'une base représentative de sa polarité (2). Les quatre sommets (4) du carré font naturellement référence aux quatre points cardinaux et figurent la base de la manifestation.

D'autres exemples pourraient être donnés, mais ils n'ajouteraient rien au sens du septénaire, des sept couleurs.

Le symbolisme des couleurs

L'œil humain peut distinguer sept cents nuances de couleurs et il ne saurait être question d'évoquer ici tous leurs aspects. D'autant plus qu'une même couleur peut revêtir des sens différents selon sa tonalité (claire ou foncée) ou le monde auquel elle s'applique (manifesté ou non manifesté, spirituel ou temporel etc.). En conséquence, seules les qualités des principales couleurs, mettant en rapport les différents mondes, seront effleurées dans la suite de ce texte. Nous commencerons par le blanc, source des couleurs de l'arc-en-ciel.

Blanc et Noir

Le blanc symbolise le Principe de la manifestation des couleurs et de toute chose en général. Il correspond à l'être qui a ré-intégré le Centre, qui a dépassé l'état humain pour accéder à l'état supra-humain ou spirituel. Le blanc est la couleur des druides de la tradition celtique et des brahmanes de la tradition hindoue. Il symbolise l'autorité spirituelle ou sacerdotale qui a autorité sur le pouvoir temporel ou royal.

Le blanc dépeint la présence, la manifestation (de couleurs); le noir l'absence, la non manifestation (de couleurs). L'alternance entre les carreaux blancs et noirs figure le jeu constant entre le visible et l'invisible, le monde des apparences et le monde des profondeurs

Le blanc incarne également la voie initiatique passant par tous les degrés de la réalisation spirituelle et fondée sur la confiance et l'abandon. Atteindre le dernier degré ou le Centre, c'est retourner au Principe. Par opposition au blanc, source de la manifestation, de la présence (de couleurs), le noir figure le non manifesté, l'absence (de couleurs). Perçu de l'extérieur (vision exotérique), du point de vue de la manifestation, le Principe ou le Centre est blanc. Appréhendé de l'intérieur (vision ésotérique), il est non manifesté et noir. Le noir constitue en quelque sorte le véritable Centre, source de tous les rayons, y compris du septième. Ainsi, certaines échelles des degrés initiatiques de la tradition islamique peuvent comporter sept, voire huit, échelons dont le dernier est noir pour bien marquer l'étape ultime de l'accomplissement spirituel.

Par ailleurs, dans la tradition hindoue, le noir est aussi la couleur de la classe inférieure (distincte de la caste inférieure). Il y a en effet deux façons de ne pas appartenir à une classe (“varna” qui signifie aussi couleur):

- Être privé de classe (“avarna”) comme les shûdras;
- Être au-delà des classes (“ativarna”), c'est-à-dire avoir rejoint le Centre.

Il s'ensuit que le noir symbolise le début du cycle de la manifestation ou le Principe et la fin du cycle en relation avec son plein développement. En conséquence, le noir représente la plus brillante et la plus obscure des lumières selon le point de vue adopté: non manifesté ou manifesté.

La juxtaposition du blanc et du noir symbolise naturellement les couples tels que lumière et ténèbres, jour et nuit, yang et yin etc. Le blanc du yang et le noir du yin mettent en évidence la prééminence du yang sur le yin du point de vue de la manifestation. Une prééminence assortie d'une profonde complémentarité entre les deux principes que reflète l'enchevêtrement des zones blanche et noire dans le symbole yin-yang.

De façon plus commune, la disposition imbriquée de carreaux blancs et noirs du dallage des cathédrales a un sens similaire. Quant à l'échiquier, formé de cases alternativement noires et blanches, il ne fait que traduire le jeu constant entre le non manifesté et la manifestation dans sa multiplicité indéfinie de traits (de couleurs).

Rouge

Monde temporel

Couleur de la mise à feu et à sang de la place ennemie, le rouge représente la vaillance et, plus symboliquement, le pouvoir et la force en ce monde. En tant que couleur “supérieure” de l'arc-en-ciel, elle correspond au rang le plus haut du pouvoir temporel. Un rôle traditionnellement dévolu aux guerriers et à leur chef, le roi. C'est la couleur des kshatriyas, deuxième fonction après celle de brahmane de la tradition hindoue. La croix des moines soldats, chevaliers de l'ordre du Temple en offre un exemple plus familier. Les cardinaux de l'église catholique ont hérité de ce symbole de souveraineté.

Monde spirituel

Si le blanc symbolise l'autorité sacerdotale en relation avec la connaissance des principes, le rouge représente le pouvoir temporel en charge de leur application. En ce sens, il symbolise l'amour du Principe divin.

Bleu

Monde temporel

En tant que couleur fondamentale de “la moins élevée” de l'arc-en-ciel, le bleu (foncé) représente la couleur de la fonction productrice.

Monde spirituel

Couleur la moins substantielle de toutes, le bleu clair se trouve dans la nature essentiellement sous sa forme translucide et principalement dans les cieux et les eaux. Aussi symbolise t-il davantage l'essence que la substance, c'est-à-dire la force spirituelle, l'Esprit, la Paix intérieure.
Le bleu clair est la couleur de la méditation et, à mesure qu'il devient plus foncé, celle des rêves. La Conscience est alors ramenée peu à peu à l'inconscience à l'instar la lumière du jour qui se mue graduellement en la couleur de la nuit, le bleu nuit.

Jaune

Monde temporel

Du point de vue temporel, le jaune représente la couleur “moyenne” associée à la caste des vaishyas de la tradition hindoue.

Monde spirituel

Couleur la plus chaude du spectre de la lumière, le jaune est associé au soleil et à l'or, deux symboles du rayonnement spirituel, de la Sagesse. La transmutation du plomb en or symbolisait l'alchimie intérieure transformant l'être humain en être supra-humain ou spirituel. C'est pourquoi le jaune est mis en relation avec la re-naissance de l'être, la résurrection du Christ.
Situé à mi-chemin dans le spectre de l'arc-en-ciel, le jaune représente la “Voie du Milieu”. Il symbolise la voie de communication entre le Ciel et la Terre, entre le bleu et le rouge. Dans la Chine ancienne, il était la couleur impériale. L'empereur régnait sur “l'Empire du Milieu” comme le soleil règne dans les Cieux. En raison de son caractère hautement spirituel, le jaune était souvent associé au noir dont il émerge. Dans diverses traditions, il symbolise la transmission du pouvoir divin aux empereurs et aux rois.

Vert

Monde temporel

Couleur la plus répandue sur terre, le vert représente à la fois le souffle de la vie végétale et sa décomposition. Comme tel, il est associé au cycle de la mort et de la re-naissance.
De plus, à mi-chemin entre les couleurs dites chaudes (rouge, orange, jaune) et les couleurs dites froides (bleu, violet), le vert est la couleur de la neutralité, de la tranquillité, de l'apaisement que tous nous espérons trouver.

Monde spirituel

Alliance du bleu et du jaune, le vert est la couleur de l'éveil, de la ré-génération, de l'accès à la connaissance spirituelle.
Les mythes font souvent référence à la complémentarité du rouge et du vert. Dans la tradition égyptienne, le cadavre d'Osiris (vert) est ramené à la vie par Isis (rouge). Dans la version chrétienne de la quête du Saint Graal, le vase d'émeraude contient le sang du Dieu fait homme.

Orange

Monde temporel

Si le jaune est associé au soleil dans son apparente plénitude, l'orange l'identifie à son lever et à son coucher, i.e. à son élévation et à sa descente. Autrement dit, l'orange caractérise à la fois l'envol vers la lumière et la descente vers les ténèbres, synonyme d'ignorance.

Monde spirituel

Mélange de jaune et de rouge, l'orange allie l'or spirituel et le rouge temporel et symbolise l'équilibre entre les mondes céleste et terrestre, c'est-à-dire la justice dans son sens profond d'harmonie.
Cette voie de l'équilibre était recherchée, par exemple, dans les orgies rituelles considérées comme source de la révélation initiatique. Ainsi, Dionysos est représenté vêtu d'orange. De nos jours, l'habit safran des moines bouddhistes symbolise également cette recherche de l'harmonie.

Violet

Monde temporel

Le violet est la couleur de la tempérance car il adoucit la violence du rouge. Tel est le sens attaché à la couleur des vêtements sacerdotaux de l'évêque. Il doit en effet veiller sur son troupeau et modérer les ardeurs de ses ouailles.

Monde spirituel

Composé en proportions égales de bleu et de rouge, le violet représente aussi la couleur de l'équilibre entre le Ciel et la Terre. Opposé au jaune, couleur du passage entre la mort d'un état d'être et la re-naissance dans un autre, le violet figure le passage de la vie à la mort d'un état avant de re-naître ou de ressusciter dans un autre. C'est ainsi que le chœur et les statues des églises sont drapés de violet le vendredi saint. Avant la Renaissance, beaucoup de missels, psautiers et bréviaires étaient écrits en lettres d'or sur un fond violet de manière à constamment rappeler au lecteur le mystère de la Passion du Christ. Ultérieurement, dans les sociétés occidentales, la couleur est devenue celle du deuil ou du demi-deuil. Comme tel, le violet est associé au rite de passage d'un état dans un autre.

Bibliographie

  • René Guénon:
  • “Symboles de la Science sacrée”. Éditions Gallimard 1962;
  • Notamment, les chapitres XLVII sur le blanc et le noir et LVII consacré aux sept rayons de l'arc-en-ciel.

1 retour La décomposition de la lumière blanche en sept couleurs revient à Newton. On s'est longtemps demandé d'où venait l'introduction de l'indigo ? Il semblerait que Newton ait voulu établir une correspondance entre les sept planètes connues alors et les couleurs du spectre de la lumière visible. Tout comme l'attraction “universelle” découlait des masses des différentes planètes, le spectre des couleurs résulterait de corpuscules de masses distinctes.