LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The rainbow colours (Summary)

Rainbow, bridge between Heaven and Earth

A bridge between Earth and Heaven

As the language of the eyes and heart, colours are aiming more at intuitive intelligence than to mind. Therefore, they constitute a privileged support for the symbolic representations, such as the beautiful example of the rainbow. Consequence of the light refraction on water drops, it provides the entire spectrum of sunlight commonly divided into seven colours. What are the relationships between the seven rainbow colours and the seven rays of the sun peculiar to several traditions, particularly Hindu ? The answer lies in the meaning given to these seven colours.

Symbol of the bridge between Earth and Heaven, the rainbow contains six colours only. Indeed, indigo, the intermediary colour between violet and blue in the same way as cyan between blue and green, has no reason to play a key role within the visible light spectrum. The seventh colour depicts in reality the “white” light or the Principle at the origin of the manifestation (of colours).

At the same time in and out of the manifestation process, the Principle comes first as the source of all things and last when reconstituted from its development. That is the real meaning of the septenarius, the “white” light of which represents the unity and the six rainbow colours, the manifestation cycle. The seventh sun ray is only but the Centre from which everything comes and to which everything goes back.

The Principle, white from the external of manifested point of view, is black from the internal or non-manifested prospect. Black symbolizes the real Centre, ultimate step of the spiritual ascent. The juxtaposition of white and black, as on cathedral paving or chessboard, expresses in fact the constant game between manifestation and non-manifestation, between the variety of all things and their deep unity within the Principle.

The colour symbolism only reflects the multiplicity of all aspects of the manifestation cycle of the “white” light. The indefinite multiplicity of nuances is echoing the diversity of the manifestation of all things. Finding the unity path through this diversity is the goal in life.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Les couleurs de l'arc-en-ciel

(Résumé)

Arc-en-ciel, pont entre Ciel et Terre

Un pont entre Terre et Ciel

Les couleurs sont le langage des yeux et du cœur et s'adressent davantage à l'intelligence intuitive qu'au mental. Aussi, constituent-elles un support privilégié de la représentation symbolique dont l'arc-en-ciel offre un bel exemple. Résultat de la réfraction de la lumière sur les gouttes d'eau, il nous donne tout le spectre de la lumière du soleil communément divisé en sept couleurs. Quels rapports entre les sept couleurs de l'arc-en-ciel et les sept rayons du soleil propres à plusieurs traditions, hindoue notamment ? La réponse réside dans le sens accordé à ces sept couleurs.

Symbole du pont entre la Terre et le Ciel, l'arc-en-ciel ne comprend en fait que six couleurs. En effet, l'indigo, couleur intermédiaire entre le bleu et le violet au même titre que le cyan entre le bleu et le vert, n'a aucune raison de jouer un rôle privilégié au sein du spectre de la lumière visible. La septième couleur figure en réalité la lumière “blanche” ou le Principe à l'origine de la manifestation (des couleurs).

A la fois tenant et aboutissant, le Principe vient en premier en tant que source de toutes choses et en dernier lors de sa reconstitution à partir de son développement. Tel est le véritable sens du septénaire dont la lumière “blanche” incarne l'unité et les six couleurs de l'arc-en-ciel le cycle de la manifestation. Le septième rayon du soleil n'est autre que le centre d'où tout provient et où tout retourne.

Le Principe, blanc du point de vue extérieur ou manifesté, est noir sous son aspect intérieur ou non manifesté. Le noir symbolise le Centre véritable, étape ultime de l'ascension spirituelle. La juxtaposition du blanc et du noir sur le dallage des cathédrales ou l'échiquier exprime en fait le jeu constant entre manifesté et non manifesté, entre la diversité des choses et leur profonde unité dans le Principe.

Le symbolisme des couleurs ne fait que refléter la multiplicité des aspects du cycle de la manifestation de la lumière “blanche”. La multiplicité indéfinie des nuances est évocatrice de la diversité de la manifestation de toutes choses. Retrouver la voie de l'unité à partir de cette diversité, tel est le but de l'existence.

Page détaillée

Haut