LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The colour approaches

(Detailed page)

Summary

Isaac Newton Wolfgang Goethe

The scientific approach of Newton

Isaac Newton (1642-1727) is considered the father of the science of colour. However, Thierry von Freiberg (13th century) was probably the first to give a convincing explanation of the rainbow spectrum. He observed the scattering of daylight through spherical glass flasks, filled with water. Freiberg suggested that the drops of water suspended in the atmosphere after rain behaved as spherical balloons filled up with water.

Newton observed the scattering of a light ray through a prism of glass placed in an obscure room. He showed that the visible light was made up of a spectrum of colour radiations and that the recombination of these radiations gave the visible (known as white) light again.

Spectrum of the rainbow.

The father of the theory of gravitation naturally thought that light was made of corpuscles of distinct masses according to the colours. On the contrary, the contemporary science emphasises more the undulatory aspect of light and classified colour radiations according to one criterion only, the wavelength.

The artists could not be satisfied with this statement only. Did a genius painter as Eugène Delacroix not say in his diary!

Colour is par excellence the part of the art which holds the magic gift. Whereas the subject, the form, the line are initially addressing the thinking, the colour does not make sense for intelligence, but has all powers on sensitivity.

Eugène Delacroix said that he had found his colour theory while painting the canvass entitled “Execution of the Doge Marino Faliero” (1826):

Execution of the Doge Marino Faliero, 1826

He discovered that purple shades better emphasized yellow and drew the coloured star, consisting of two reversed triangles, on a wall of his workshop:

  • Primary and secondary coloursThe first triangle contained the primary colours yellow, red and blue which could not be obtained by mixing other colours;
  • In the reversed triangle appeared the secondary colours purple, green and orange obtained by mixing two by two the primary colours;
  • The opposite colours of the star represented the complementary colours whose mixing gave a neutral gray.

In the past, beings sensitive to the perception of colours had already raised criticisms about Newton's approach. In fact, light became visible in darkness only. For Newton, darkness was absence of light only. However, black and its gray gradations played a significant role in the shades projected by light falling on an object. It was impossible to speak about light without evoking darkness in various degrees and conversely. An author as Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1822) proposed a more global approach of colour based on the alliance of light and darkness.

The sensory approach of Goethe

In his poetic work “Faust” (first part 1808 and second part 1832), Goethe had already evoked the fight between light and darkness. He undertook a work on light and dark for forty years and regarded his “Treaty of colours” (1808 to 1810) as his most important work after “Faust”.

Goethe particularly studied shades by the light of the rising sun; the rocks took an orange colour and their shade a blue-green one. Considered separately, the shade was quite gray, but replaced in its coloured environment, it became blue-green, the complementary colour to orange. This phenomenon, considered by science as an optical illusion, was however well perceived by the eyes of the observer 1. For Goethe, the perception of colours was above all of sensory nature; he described the colours as he saw them.

The author of the “Treaty of colours” knew of Newton's experiments and undertook them again in daylight with prisms of various angles. He observed, through a prism, the images of two complementary rectangles, a white rectangle on a black background and a black rectangle on a white one:

White rectangle

Black rectangle

The experiment gave surprising results. Instead of a single colour spectrum, two marginal spectra appeared at the edges of each of the white and black rectangles:

Purple
blue-cyan
spectrum
White rectangle spectrumYellow
red-orangey
spectrum

Yellow
red-orangey
spectrum
Black rectangle spectrumPurple
blue-cyan
spectrum

We note that both spectra of the black rectangle are inverted compared to those of the white rectangle.

When the height of the rectangles decreased, the marginal spectra approached until practically touching each other:

Smaller white rectangle spectrum

Smaller Black rectangle spectrum

The continuation of the reduction of the height of the rectangles led to the overlapping of the marginal spectra. Yellow and blue mixed in the white rectangle to give the green colour and the Newton's spectrum; similarly, purple and red mixed in the black rectangle to give the crimson colour and a second spectrum proper to Goethe.

Even smaller white rectangle spectrum

Even smaller black rectangle spectrum

While pushing further the reduction of the height of the rectangles, two spectra of three colours only appeared.

Purple
green
red-orangey
spectrum
Three colour spectrum of the white rectangle

Yellow
crimson
blue-cyan
spectrum
Three colour spectrum of the black rectangle

Goethe gathered both spectra and the results of his observations in his “chromatic circle”:

 Goethe's chromatic circle

For the poet, the first triangle represented the light colours (blue-cyan, crimson and yellow), whose mixing gave the colour of the black rectangle on a white background, i.e. light was hiding behind dark. The reversed triangle grouped together the dark colours (red-orangey, green and purple), whose mixing gave the colour of the white rectangle on a black background, i.e. dark was hiding behind light. Light and dark were indissolubly linked in Goethe's vision of colours. Every colour is simultaneously associated with light and dark.

Unlike Newton, Goethe considered that light was invisible; only the manifestation of colours made it visible in the eyes of the observers. This dialogue between the invisible and its visible manifestation showed not only a sensory, but also a spiritual approach. Consequently, Goethe's interest for the relationship between the parts and the whole and its fundamental polarity of light and dark was therefore not surprising. Such an approach was developed in painting by the great English artist William Turner. How not to draw a parallel between the colours of the three lower stripes of the painting entitled “Colour beginning” (1819) and the colours of the spectrum proper to Goethe!

Colour beginning, 1819

However, the artist had not been aware of the book of the poet at the time of the canvas realization. These two geniuses must have been driven by a common vision of colour based on the observation of the world as a whole.

If colour is a concern of the outer world for most scientists, it reveals our inner world for Goethe.

Bibliography

1 back The brain recomposes the complementary colours as to maintaining a global perception of light and colours. This phenomenon is comparable with that of hearing where the brain recomposes the high-pitched sounds from the low-pitched ones as to maintaining an overall harmony.
Let us mention by passing the affinity of sounds and colours. Do we not talk about the colour of sounds or the tonality of colours ?

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Les approches de la couleur

(Page détaillée)

Résumé

Isaac Newton Wolfgang Goethe

L'approche scientifique de Newton

Isaac Newton (1642-1727) passe pour le père de la science de la couleur. Toutefois, Thierry von Freiberg (XIIIe siècle) fut probablement le premier à donner une explication convaincante du spectre de l'arc-en-ciel. Il observa la dispersion de la lumière du jour au travers de fioles sphériques en verre remplies d'eau. Freiberg suggérera que les gouttes d'eau suspendues dans l'atmosphère après la pluie se comportaient comme des ballons sphériques emplis d'eau.

Newton observa la dispersion d'un rayon lumineux au travers d'un prisme de verre placé dans une chambre obscure. Il montra que la lumière visible était composée d'un spectre de radiations de couleurs et que la recomposition de ces radiations redonnait la lumière visible dite blanche.

Spectre de l'arc-en-ciel.

Le père de la théorie de la gravitation pensait naturellement que la lumière était composée de corpuscules de masses distinctes selon les couleurs. La science contemporaine a mis, au contraire, davantage l'accent sur l'aspect ondulatoire de la lumière et a classé les radiations de couleurs selon un seul critère, la longueur d'onde.

Les artistes ne purent se contenter de ce seul constat. Un peintre de génie comme Eugène Delacroix ne disait-il pas dans son journal!

La couleur est par excellence la partie de l’art qui détient le don magique. Alors que le sujet, la forme, la ligne s’adressent d’abord à la pensée, la couleur n’a aucun sens pour l’intelligence, mais elle a tous les pouvoirs sur la sensibilité.

Eugène Delacroix raconta qu’il avait trouvé sa théorie des couleurs en peignant le tableau intitulé “L'exécution du Doge Marino Faliero” (1826):

L'exécution du Doge Marino Faliero

Il découvrit que les ombres violettes faisaient mieux ressortir le jaune et dessina l'étoile colorée, formée de deux triangles inversés, sur un mur de son atelier:

  • Couleurs primaires et secondairesLe premier triangle contenait les couleurs primaires jaune, rouge et bleu qui ne pouvaient être obtenues en mélangeant d'autres couleurs;
  • Dans le triangle inversé figuraient les couleurs secondaires violet, vert et orange obtenues en mélangeant les couleurs primaires deux à deux;
  • Les couleurs opposées de l'étoile représentaient les couleurs complémentaires dont la combinaison donnait un gris neutre.

Les êtres sensibles à la perception des couleurs avaient déjà par le passé soulevé des critiques sur l'approche de Newton. En fait, la lumière ne devenait visible que dans l'obscurité. Pour Newton, l'obscurité n'était qu'absence de lumière. Or, le noir et ses dégradés de gris jouaient un rôle important dans les ombres projetées par la lumière frappant un objet. Il était impossible de parler de lumière sans évoquer l'obscurité à divers degrés et inversement. Un auteur comme Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1822) proposa une approche plus globale de la couleur fondée sur l'alliance de la lumière et de l'obscurité.

L'approche sensorielle de Goethe

Dans son œuvre poétique “Faust” (première partie 1808 et deuxième partie 1832), Goethe avait déjà évoqué la lutte entre la lumière et les ténèbres. Il entreprit un travail sur le clair-obscur pendant quarante ans et considéra son “Traité des couleurs” (1808 à 1810) comme son œuvre la plus importante après “Faust”.

Goethe étudia notamment les ombres à la lumière du soleil levant; les rochers prenaient une couleur orangée et leur ombre une couleur bleue-verte. Considérée isolément, l'ombre était bien grise, mais replacée dans son environnement coloré, elle devenait bleue-verte, couleur complémentaire de l'orangé. Ce phénomène, considéré par la science comme une illusion d'optique, était pourtant bien perçu par l'œil de l'observateur 1. Pour Goethe, la perception des couleurs était avant tout de nature sensorielle; il décrivait les couleurs comme il les voyait.

L'auteur du “Traité des couleurs” connaissait les expériences de Newton et les a reprises à la lumière du jour avec des prismes de différents angles. Il observa, à travers un prisme, les images de deux rectangles complémentaires, un rectangle blanc sur fond noir et un rectangle noir sur fond blanc:

Rectangle blanc

Rectangle noir

L'expérience donna des résultats surprenants. Au lieu d'un spectre de couleurs unique, deux spectres marginaux apparurent sur les bords de chacun des rectangles blanc et noir:

Spectre
violet
bleu-cyan
Spectre du rectangle blancSpectre
jaune
rouge-orangé

Spectre
jaune
rouge-orangé
Spectre du rectangle noirSpectre
violet
bleu-cyan

Nous constatons que les deux spectres du rectangle noir sont intervertis par rapport à ceux du rectangle blanc.

Lorsque la hauteur des rectangles diminuait, les spectres marginaux se rapprochaient jusqu'à pratiquement se toucher:

Spectre du rectangle blanc plus petit

Spectre du rectangle noir plus petit

La poursuite de la diminution de la hauteur des rectangles conduisait au chevauchement des spectres marginaux. Le jaune et le bleu se mélangeaient dans le rectangle blanc pour donner la couleur verte et le spectre de Newton; de même, le violet et le rouge se mêlaient dans le rectangle noir pour donner la couleur pourpre et un second spectre propre à Goethe.

Spectre du rectangle blanc encore plus petit

Spectre du rectangle noir encore plus petit

En poussant plus avant la réduction de la hauteur des rectangles, deux spectres de trois couleurs seulement apparaissaient.

Spectre
violet
vert
rouge-orangé
Spectre de trois couleurs du rectangle blanc

Spectre
jaune
pourpre
bleu-cyan
Spectre de trois couleurs du rectangle noir

Goethe a rassemblé ces deux spectres et les résultats de ses observations dans son “cercle chromatique”:

Cercle chromatique de Goethe

Pour le poète, le premier triangle représentait les couleurs claires (bleu-cyan, pourpre et jaune) dont la combinaison donnait la couleur du rectangle noir sur fond blanc, i.e. le clair se cachait derrière l'obscur. Le triangle inversé regroupait les couleurs sombres (rouge-orangé, vert et violet) dont la combinaison donnait la couleur du rectangle blanc sur fond noir, i.e. le sombre se cachait derrière le clair. Clair et obscur étaient indissolublement liés dans la vision des couleurs de Goethe. Toute couleur est simultanément associée au clair et à l'obscur.

Contrairement à Newton, Goethe considérait que la lumière était invisible; seule la manifestation des couleurs la rendait visible aux yeux des observateurs. Ce dialogue entre l'invisible et sa manifestation visible témoignait d'une approche non seulement sensorielle, mais également spirituelle. L'intérêt de Goethe pour les relations entre les parties et le tout et sa polarité fondamentale clair-obscur n'avait dès lors rien de surprenant. Une telle approche a été développée en peinture par le grand artiste anglais William Turner. Comment ne pas mettre en parallèle les couleurs des trois bandes inférieures du tableau intitulé “Structure de couleur” (1819) et les couleurs du spectre propre à Goethe!

Structure de couleur, 1819

Pourtant, l'artiste n'avait pas encore eu connaissance de l'ouvrage du poète à l'époque de la réalisation de la toile. Ces deux génies devaient être animés par une vision commune de la couleur fondée sur l'observation du monde dans sa globalité.

Si la couleur relève du monde extérieur pour la plupart des scientifiques, elle révèle notre monde intérieur pour Goethe.

1 retour Le cerveau recompose les couleurs complémentaires comme pour maintenir une perception globale de la lumière et des couleurs. Ce phénomène est comparable à celui de l'audition où le cerveau recompose les sons aigus à partir des sons graves comme pour maintenir une harmonie d'ensemble.
Mentionnons en passant l'afffinité des sons et des couleurs. Ne parle t-on pas de la couleur des sons ou de la tonalité des couleurs ?

La lumière, l'obscurité, les couleurs

La vision des couleurs de Goethe

Haut