LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The colour approaches

(Summary)

Composition by Carla Accardi, 1947, Museum of contemporary art , Milan

Outer and inner revelations

Colours are a manifestation of light that illuminates and reveals the world to us. They are absorbed, reflected and propagated in the form of corpuscles or waves. Captured by the eye, they are transmitted to the brain and transformed into coloured sensations. Then, the outer colours are becoming inner in the strict sense of the word. Next, they are comprehended, that is to say taken together with their whole environment, to be interpreted according to each one's itinerary.

That the meaning of colours varies across regions and eras hardly raises doubts. And that lead us to ask, for example, why the colour of mourning is black in the West and white in the East ? By the way, are black and white really colours ? The answer can only be yes and no, unless it is no and yes. No matter what, let us continue with mourning:

  • Black absorbs all (other) colours. This means the disappearance of all vivid colours of the world, the world of the living. As such, black perfectly suits as a symbol of death;
  • White, by contrast, reflects all (other) colours which are returning to life, to the world of the living. It echoes a rebirth following death. Death is not an ultimate end, but only the end of a cycle heralding a new one, a revival.

Colours of mourning differ less than the points of view about. Indeed, both are complementary. Everything depends on the connotation given to the word “end”. And why not including instead of opposing them. It is the end of something and the beginning of something else, even if it remains largely unknown. Besides, the colours of mourning are never completely black or white. Black and white are often accompanied by a touch of white or black. A richer approach would precisely consist in broadening our vision and investigate the relationships between black and white… and (other) colours.

If the interpretation of colours depends on the environmental and cultural context, it also goes beyond them to acquire a deeper meaning. Deeper than shape that is appearance, deeper than place and time that are contingencies.

There is many a slip twixt the photon or electromagnetic wave, proper to the outer world, and the deep feeling, characteristic of the inner world. Therefore, no wonder the divergence between outer and scientific views and inner and symbolic visions.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Les approches de la couleur

(Résumé)

Composition de Carla Accardi, 1947, Musée d'art contemporain, Milan

Révélations extérieure et intérieure

Les couleurs sont une manifestation de la lumière qui illumine et nous révèle le monde. Elles sont absorbées, réfléchies et propagées sous la forme de corpuscles ou d'ondes. Captées par l'œil, elles sont transmises au cerveau et transformées en sensations colorées. Les couleurs extérieures deviennent alors intérieures au sens propre du mot. Elles sont ensuite comprises, c'est-à-dire prises avec tout leur environnement, pour être interprétées en fonction de l'itinéraire de chacun.

Que la signification des couleurs varie selon les régions et les époques ne soulève guère de doutes. Et cela nous conduits à nous demander, par exemple, pourquoi la couleur du deuil est le noir en occident et le blanc en orient ? À propos, le noir et le blanc sont-ils vraiment des couleurs ? La réponse ne peut-être que oui et non à moins que ce ne soit non et oui. Peu importe et poursuivons avec le deuil:

  • Le noir absorbe toutes les (autres) couleurs. Cela signifie la disparition de toutes les couleurs vives du monde, du monde des vivants. À ce titre, le noir convient tout à fait comme symbole de la mort;
  • Le blanc, au contraire, réfléchit toutes les (autres) couleurs qui retournent à la vie, au monde des vivants. Il fait écho à une re-naissance suivant le décès. La mort n'est plus une fin ultime, mais seulement la fin d'un cycle annonciatrice d'un nouveau cycle, d'un re-nouveau.

Les couleurs du deuil diffèrent moins que les points de vues sous jacents. En fait, les deux se complètent. Tout dépend de la connotation donnée au mot “fin”. Et pourquoi ne pas les englober au lieu de les opposer. Il s'agit de la fin de quelque chose et du début d'une autre, même si elle reste largement inconnue. D'ailleurs, les couleurs du deuil ne sont jamais totalement noire ou blanche. Le noir et le blanc sont souvent assortis d'une pointe de blanc ou de noir. Une approche plus riche consisterait précisément à élargir notre vision et à étudier la relation entre le noir et le blanc… et les (autres) couleurs.

Si l'interprétation des couleurs dépend bien du contexte environnemental et culturel, elle les dépasse aussi pour acquérir un sens plus profond. Plus profond que la forme qui est apparence, que le lieu et l'époque qui sont contingences.

Il y a loin du photon ou de l'onde électromagnétique, propres au monde extérieur, au profond ressenti, caractéristique du monde intérieur. Comment s'étonner dès lors de la divergence entre les vues extérieures et scientifiques et les visions intérieures et symboliques.

Page détaillée

Haut