LOTUS

At the heart of symbolism

The double meaning of the Androgyne

(Summary)

Masculine and feminine symbolic signs

The symbol of the unified state

Usually represented as a double faced head or a body topped by two heads, the Androgyne deals with the two essential facets of life, masculine and feminine or male and female. However, its double meaning also encompasses the simple distinction between sexes and relates to the primeval state of the being.

Situated beyond polarities, notably feminine masculine, the androgyne represents at once the original state and the accomplished state of the being. In fact, It symbolizes the one who has overcome life sufferings proper to the world of appearances and re-integrated the primeval Unity where he is coming from. As origin and outcome of the being manifestation, the Androgyne is a universal symbol of the unified state.

The passage through the world of duality is a necessary step to become fully conscious of the lost reality. However, to push the being's sexual identification to extremes, notably through the clitoris excision regarded as a survival of the penis or the foreskin circumcision as a survival of the vulva, does not increase our consciousness one iota.

The duality perception is not a result of the manifested world, but is derived from our vision of that world. As long as we stay divided inside ourselves, we will not be able to accept the world as it is and ourselves as we are in reality, that means unified. The moment however we become aware that we have all the treasures of the world within ourselves, that nothing is missing, all fears, cravings and illusions attached to our dualistic perception of things and beings are flying away. We start to live like a whole and become a true individual (from “individuum” or indivisible). We are back home.

Detailed page

Top

LOTUS

Au cœur du symbolisme

Le double sens de l'Androgyne

(Résumé)

Signes symboliques masculin et féminin

Le symbole de l'état unifié

Habituellement représenté sous la forme d'un visage à double face ou d'un corps surmonté de deux têtes, l'Androgyne évoque les deux facettes essentielles de la vie, masculine et féminine ou mâle et femelle. Cependant, sa double signification dépasse la seule distinction des sexes et se rattache à l'état premier de l'être.

Situé au-delà des polarités, notamment masculine/féminine, l'Androgyne représente à la fois l'état originel et l'état accompli de l'être. En effet, Il symbolise celui ou celle qui a dépassé les souffrances de la vie propres au monde des apparences et ré-intégré l'Unité première dont il ou elle émane. Conjointement origine et aboutissement de la manifestation des êtres, l'Androgyne est un symbole universel de l'état unifié.

Le passage par le monde de la dualité depuis l'état originel est une étape nécessaire pour prendre pleinement conscience de la réalité perdue. Toutefois, pousser à ses extrémités l'identification sexuelle des êtres, en recourant notamment à l'excision du clitoris regardé comme une survivance du pénis ou à la circoncision du prépuce considéré comme un reliquat de la vulve, ne fait pas progresser d'un iota la conscience de soi.

La perception de la dualité ne découle pas du monde manifesté, mais de la vision que nous en avons. Tant que nous restons divisés en nous-mêmes, nous ne pouvons accepter le monde tel qu'il est et nous-mêmes tels que nous sommes en réalité, c'est-à-dire unifiés. Dès l'instant cependant où nous devenons conscients que tous les trésors du monde sont en nous, que rien ne manque, toutes les craintes, envies et illusions attachées à notre perception duelle des choses et des êtres s'envolent. Nous commençons à vivre comme un tout et nous transformons en un individu véritable (de “individuum” ou indivisible). Nous rentrons à nouveau chez nous.

Page détaillée

Haut