Art Nouveau - Jugendstil - Secession - Art Deco - …

Short guide

 

INTRODUCTION

Mainly in Europe, the end of the 19th century and the beginning of the 20th century have been swept by a surprising number of new architectural styles, in a total break with the styles of the past : Arts & Crafts, Art Nouveau, Jugendstil, Viennese Secession, Art Deco, etc.

Many books have been published in connection with these new styles. However, as far as architecture is concerned, the actual discovery of a bulding remains unparalleled.

Therefore, this website intends to provide architecture lovers with practical information (addresses, opening hours, etc.) which should enable them to easily locate and access some works of this period which still exist today. In order to be concise, historical and stylistic information has been reduced to a minimum (author, date of construction, …) ; additional details can be found in the relevant books.

An attempt has been made to classify all buildings presented into a reduced number of styles. It is clear that such an attempt is highly subjective and approximate, unless one defines as many styles as there are architects.

In addition, a rating has been given to most of the buildings (1 to 3 stars). Like any rating, this one reflects only his author’s opinion. Moreover, it depends essentially on what the public can actually see and access. This explains why most of the buidings which are closed to the public have received low ratings. It should be noted that the absence of a rating does not imply that the work is of poor quality.

When present, information relating to the orientation of the building should help the photographers to better plan their visits.

When this was possible, Internet links to comments and/or pictures of the buildings have been mentioned for on-line reference.

Moreover, the "News" page of this website presents information relating to exhibitions, visits, etc.


This site is updated and extended on a regular basis. Therefore, you are invited to come back from time to time. Its author thanks you in advance for any error you could point out and for any addition you could suggest. Any contribution will be welcome.

 

Back to General index

Denis Dambois, 1999-2006

Any reproduction of this site, even in part, is forbidden without the agreement of its author : dd(@)denis-d.net (remove parentheses !).
Any infringement of the intellectual property rights relating to this site will be prosecuted according to the relevant laws and treaties.


26/2/2004

Art Nouveau - Jugendstil - Secession - Art Deco - …

Petit guide pratique

 

INTRODUCTION

En Europe principalement, la fin du XIXème siècle et le début du XXème siècle ont vu se succéder en quelques décennies une multitude de styles architecturaux nouveaux, en rupture totale avec les courants antérieurs.
De nombreux ouvrages ont certes été publiés les concernant, mais dans le domaine de l'architecture, rien ne remplace naturellement la découverte réelle d'un bâtiment.

Ce site vise dès lors à fournir aux amateurs d'architecture des informations pratiques (adresses, heures d'ouvertures, etc.) qui devraient leur permettre de localiser et d'accéder plus aisément à certaines oeuvres de cette époque qui subsistent encore. Dans un souci de concision, les informations historiques et stylistiques ont été réduites au minimum (auteur, date de construction, etc.).

Une tentative de classement par style a été faite à titre indicatif, mais il est bien clair que cette classification ne peut être que subjective et approximative, à moins de définir autant de styles qu'il n'y a d'architectes.

Des appréciations ont été données aux bâtiments présentés (de 1 à 3 étoiles). Comme toute appréciation, elles sont subjectives ; en outre, elles dépendent principalement de ce que peut concrètement voir le public. La plupart des bâtiments non accessibles au public ont dès lors reçu une appréciation plus faible que la moyenne. A noter que l'absence d'appréciation ne signifie pas qu'il s'agit d'une oeuvre médiocre.

Lorsqu'elles sont présentes, des informations concernant l'orientation des édifices devraient permettre aux photographes de mieux planifier leurs visites.


Dans la mesure du possible, les bâtiments retenus sont accompagnés de liens Internet donnant accès à des commentaires ou photos les concernant. Certains sites Internet de qualité ont également été mentionnés en tant que tels.

Enfin, la page "Actualités" présente des informations relatives aux expositions, visites, etc. actuelles ou prochaines.


Ce site sera encore étendu à l'avenir, aussi vous est-il suggéré d'y revenir à intervalles réguliers. Son auteur vous remercie d'avance pour les erreurs que vous pourriez lui signaler et pour tout ajout que vous pourriez lui proposer.

 

Retour à l'index général

© Denis Dambois, 1999-2006

Toute reproduction de ce site, même partielle, est interdite sans l'accord de son auteur : of its author : dd(@)denis-d.net (enlever les parenthèses !).

Toute atteinte aux droits de propriété intellectuelle relatifs à ce site sera sanctionnée en vertu des lois et traités pertinents.


26/2/2004