Brussels Air Museum Restoration Society (BAMRS)
     
     

The books written by our members
Over the years, some of our volunteers have written and published books on topics that have a special interest for them. Those books are the result of many years of research and allows you to discover not so well known (or unknown) subjects. Here's a preview:

Brussels Air Museum Restoration Society projects

Blériot XI "Olieslagers"

The best known Blériot XI user in Belgium is, without question, Jan Olieslagers. He flew with many variation of the Blériot XI during the pre-war period, period during which he will take part in many meetings and will establish many records.


Voisin "de Caters" (1909)

The first flight in Belgium took place in November 1908, the plane was piloted by Baron Pierre de Caters. He also was the first pilot to fly in Africa (December 1909) and India (December 1910). De Caters was also the first to receive a Belgian pilot licence in December 1909.


Tipsy "Trainer"

Evolution of the pre-war BC, followed, the Belfair won the world record on long distance flight for aircraft of less than 500 Kg with 945 km in 1950 and 2632 km in 1955. Two Belfair survived and are now being restored to static condition.


A B-25 back in Belgium

You have today the opportunity to take an active part in the growth of Air Heritage in Belgium. A group of individuals lead by the Brussels Air Museum Foundation have acquired a North American B-25J Mitchell to be preserved in Belgium. With your help, this airplane will be transported in Belgium, displayed and restored as a memorial.


Percival "Gull"

One of the only two survivors in the world, Percival "Gull" G-ACGR was originally ordered by Sir Philip Sassoon, at the time Under-Secretary of State for Air of the United Kingdom.


 De Havilland DH-89 "Dragon Rapide"

Built at the end 1939 for the RAF (who called DH-89 "Dominie"), this DH-89 served various private owners before being donated to the Museum in 1973.


Supermarine Spitfire XIV

In September 1997, to celebrate the restoration of the Spitfire XIV, we displayed it against the background of the "Cinquantenaire". Work on this aircraft started in 1977.


Douglas B-26 "Invader"

Build towards the end of World War II, this B-26 "Invader" (factory n° 28044, serial 44-34765) was never to participate in any conflict. It stayed for some years in the open at Deurne before being donated to the museum in March 1976.


De Havilland DH-98 "Mosquito" NF-30

RK952 was sold to Belgium on October 23, 1951.It receives number MB-24 ND-N with the Belgian Air Force and was the last Mosquito delivered to Belgium. It was put at the retirement on October 17, 1956 at Beauvechain.


Fieseler Fi-156 "Storch"

The Storch (Stork) was designed in 1935, did his first flight in 1936 and proved to be one of the best A.O.P. communications aircraft used in the past war. KR+QX landed at Äkesholm ( in the south of Sweden) and later served in the Swedish Air force under the code FV-3822. After many vicissitudes, it entered the museum in a sorry state.


Miles Magister

The Magister was the first monoplane trainer adopted by the la R.A.F. According to the information obtained from the Historical Branch-R.A.F. London, the Miles Magister of the museum, offered to Wing Cdr Donnet, DFC, had been delivered the 3-10-1946 at the FAé, and was used at the technical school of Saffrenberg for ground instruction.


Aviatik C.1

In 1975, Pierre Cryns discovered, amongst the treasures of the Army museum, the remains of an aircraft unique in the world: an Aviatik C-1.Result of long research, here is the history of this wreck through the documents and witnesses of the time.


Triplan Battaille

Built and breveted in 1911 by César Battaille, inventor and industrial living at Basècles (Hainaut). In 1972, the family Battaille gave the remains of the machine at the Air and Space section of the Royal Army museum of Brussels.


Fairchild C-119 "Flying Boxcar"

This particular C-119 has been built by Kaiser (Fairchild sub-contractor) and wear fabrication number 272. It was delivered to the FAé in february 1960, registered CP-46 and coded OT-CEH. Its dismantling and transport to the Air museum, all but easy, has been performed by a small benevolent team.


KZ-III

On display since its donation to the museum, this particular aircraft has been dismantled and stored a few years ago.In 1998 we were asked to put the aircraft back in a display condition.


T6 Harvard

In 1992, contacts were made between the Air Museum and the Museum of Praha and concretised by the exchange of an ex-Belgian Air Force Gloster Meteor Mk8 with an Mig 15. Agreements were then made for a second exchange, this time an Harvard T6 had to be exchanged for a Yak 11.


Caudron G.III

Ce Caudron G.III, immatriculé 2531, provient du musée de l'Air de Paris et était équipé à son arrivée d'un moteur Walter de 100 CV (Tchéc.). Un moteur Anzani Ion étant disponible pour installation, il fut décidé en 1999 de le substituer au moteur Walter.


Brussels Air museum Museum's aeroplanes

Hawker "Hurricane"

This Hurricane, disarmed, served as " pickup " aircraft within the Metropolitan Communication Squadron based at Hendon in 1944- 45.


Miles M.38 "Messenger"

The "Messenger" is an evolution of the M.28 developed in 1941 to fulfil the role of side-by-side trainer and hack aircraft. G-AKIS was build in 1947 at Newtownards in Northern Ireland. It received number 6725 and was one of the last Messenger to be built.

Aeroplanes of interest

The de Havilland "Hornet & Sea Hornet"

The following pages are nothing more than a resume of the information I gathered over the years on the De Havilland “Hornet/Sea Hornet” and, more precisely, its construction method.

Brussels Air Museum Restoration Society (BAMRS)
     
     

Les livres de nos membres
Au cours des années, certains de nos bénévoles ont écris et publié des livre sur des sujets qui leur tiennent à cœur. Fruit de nombreuses années de recherche, ils permettent de découvrir des sujets peu (ou pas) connus. En voici un aperçu

Les projets de la BAMRS  

Blériot XI "Olieslagers"

L'utilisateur le plus connu du Blériot XI en Belgique est, sans conteste, Jan Olieslagers. Il utilisera plusieurs appareils de ce type au cours de sa carrière d'avant-guerre, carrière durant laquelle il participera à de nombreux meeting aériens et établira de nombreux records.


Voisin "de Caters" (1909)

Le Baron Pierre de Caters. fut le premier Belge à s’élever dans les airs aux commandes d’un avion en 1908. Il sera égallement le premier pilote Belge breveté, le 2 décembre 1909, par l’Aéro-Club de Belgique.


Tipsy "Trainer"

Evolution du Tipsy BC d'avant guerre, le Belfair gagne le record du monde de distance pour avion de moins de 500 Kg avec 945 km en 1950 et 2632 Km en 1955. Deux Belfair sont sauvegardés et restaurés en état de présentation statique au Musée du Cinquantenaire.


Un B-25 en Belgique

Vous avez ici l'opportunité de prendre une part active à l'accroisement du patrimoine aéronautique en Belgique. Un groupe de privés, aidé par la "Brussels Air Museum Foundation", viennent d'acheter un North American B-25J "Mitchell" afin de l'exposer en Belgique. Avec votre aide, cet avion pourra être transporté, restauré et exposé comme mémorial pour tous les Belges ayant combattu sur B-25.


Percival "Gull"

L'un des deux existant encore dans le monde, Percival "Gull" G-ACGR a été originellement commandé par Sir Philip Sassoon, à l'époque Sous-secrétaire d'état pour l'Air du Royaume-Uni.


 De Havilland DH-89 "Dragon Rapide"

Construit fin 1939 pour la RAF (qui nomait "Dominie" les DH-89), ce DH-89 a servit dans divers compagnies privées avant d'être cédé au musée en 1973.


Supermarine Spitfire XIV

En septembre 1997, pour célébrer la fin de la restauration du Spitfire XIV, nous l'avons sorti et exposé sur le parvis du "Cinquantenaire".


Douglas B-26 "Invader"

Construit à la fin de la seconde guerre mondiale, le B26 Invader( numéro d'usine n° 28044, serial 44-34765) n'a jamais participé à aucun conflit. Il séjourna à Deurne, en plein air, pendant quelques anées avant d'être cédé au musée en Mars 1976.


De Havilland DH-98 "Mosquito" NF-30

Le RK952 fût vendu à la Belgique le 23 Octobre 1951 et sera livré le 4 Septembre 1953. Il reçoit l'immatriculation Force Aérienne MB-24 "ND-N" et sera le dernier Mosquito livré à la Belgique. Il sera officiellement retiré du service le 17 Octobre 1956 à Beauvechain.


Fieseler Fi-156 "Storch"

Dessiné en 1935, le Fieseler Storch fit son premier vol en 1936 et se révélera être l'un des meilleurs avions de reconnaissance et de communication du second conflit. KR+QX s'est posé en Suède peu avant la fin de la guerre et servit plus tard dans la Force Aérienne Suédoise sous le code FV-3822. Après de nombreuses péripéties, il arriva au Musée de l'Air dans un piteux état.


Miles Magister

Le Magister fut le premier monoplan d'entraînement adopté par la R.A.F. D'après les informations de l'Historical Branch-R.A.F. London, l'exemplaire du musée, offert au Wing Cdr Donnet, DFC, a été livré le 3-10-1946 à la FAé, à l'école technique de Saffrenberg pour l'instruction au sol.


Aviatik C.1

En 1975, Pierre Cryns découvrit parmi les trésors du musée de l'armée les restes d'un avion unique au monde, un Aviatik C-1.Fruits de longues recherches, voici l'histoire de cette épave, oubliée depuis plus de 50 ans, vue par le biais des documents et témoignages de l'époque


Triplan Battaille

Construit et breveté en 1911 par César Battaille, inventeur et industriel vivant à Basècles (Hainaut). En 1972, la famille Battaille fit don des éléments subsistants de l'appareil original à la section Air du musée de l'Armée de Bruxelles.


Fairchild C-119 "Flying Boxcar"

L'exemplaire du musée a été construit par Kaiser (sous-traitant Fairchild) et porte le n°de fabrication 272. Il fut livré à la FAé en février 1960, répertorié CP-46 et immatriculé OT-CEH. Son démontage et son transport, non dénués de problèmes, ont été réalisé par une petite équipe de bénévoles.


KZ-III

Exposé depuis sa donation au musée, cet appareil a ensuite été démantelé et stocké. En 1998, il nous a été demandé de le réassembler et le remettre en état afin de pouvoir l'exposer à nouveau.


T6 Harvard

En 1992, des contacts entre le Musée de l'Armée et le Musée de Pargue se concrétisera par l'échange concretised d'un Gloster Meteor Mk8 et d'un Mig 15. Un accord avait été égallement conclut pour échanger un T-6 contre un Yak 11.


Caudron G.III

L'exemplaire du musée, immatriculé 2531, provient d'un échange effectué avec le musée de l'Air de Paris et était équipé à son arrivée d'un moteur Walter de 100 CV (Tchéc.). Un moteur Anzani Ion étant disponible pour installation, il fut décidé en 1999 de le substituer au moteur Walter.


Les avions du Brussels Air museum Museum

Hawker "Hurricane"

Ce " Hurricane ", désarmé, servit en tant qu'avion estafette au sein du Metropolitan Communication Squadron basé à Hendon en 1944- 45.


Miles M.38 "Messenger"

Le Miles Messenger est dérivé du M.28 qui avait été étudié en 1941 comme avion d'entraînement côte à côte et avion de liaison. G-AKIS fut construit en 1947 à Newtownards en Irelande du Nord. Il reçut le numéro 6725 et fut l'un des derniers Messenger construit

Quelques avions hors du commun

Les de Havilland "Hornet & Sea Hornet"

Les pages qui suivent ne sont rien d'autre qu'un résumé de toutes les informations récoltées au cours des années sur les De Havilland “Hornet/Sea Hornet” et, plus précisément , leur méthode de construction.